Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

A-Z Databases


Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • This resource contains streaming video.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. SNHU Shapiro Library subscribes to the following collections: African American Communities, American History 1493-1945, Archives Direct, Defining Gender, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920, Race Relations in America, and Socialism On Film.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
The African American Biographical Database (AABD), from Chadwyck Healey US, brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. This extraordinary collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person. Their stories are pivotal to an understanding of the Black American experience over the last two centuries.
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
  • This resource contains all or mostly scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles.
Trial
BioOne is a full-text database of over 200 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • This resource contains streaming video.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
Black Studies Center, from Chadwyck Healey US, brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); The Chicago Defender; the Black Literature Index, the HistoryMakers oral history video resource, and Black Abolitionist Papers .
  • This resource contains data or statistics.
  • An additional login (after your SNHU login) is required to access this resource--see database description for more details.
Trial
S&P Global Market Intelligence combines broad data, powerful analytics, and deep sector intelligence to give our clients unrivaled insight into the companies and markets they follow. Please contact Bulent Aybar at b.aybar@snhu.edu for more information.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
Provides legislative history information and access to a wide range of congressional documents, including published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports, committee reports, and committee prints.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
New
Early English Books Online (EEBO), from Chadwyck Healey US, contains page images of every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. For more information on the content in this database, please see the About page.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
New
Early European Books, from Chadwyck Healey UK, traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. For more information about the content, please visit the About page.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
New
The Gerritsen Collection, from Chadwyck Healey US, is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. The collection provides immediate access to many primary sources, periodicals and books, from around the world concerning women's history, feminism, and anti-feminism including titles such as The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains images or artwork.
New
History Vault is a collection of primary source material pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era. This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in five subject categories: 1) Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; 2) Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; 3) American Indians and the American West; 4) American Politics and Society; 5) International Relations and Military Conflicts; 6) Women's Studies; and 7) Workers and Labor Unions.
New
The John Johnson Collection of British Printed Ephemera is one of the largest and most important collections of printed ephemera in the world. It offers a fresh view of British history through primary, uninterpreted printed documents which, produced for short-term use, have survived by chance, including advertisements, handbills, playbills and programs, menus, greetings cards, posters, postcards.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
Trial
The magazine archives includes: Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954– 2000), Forbes Magazine Archive (1917 to 2000), Fortune Magazine Archive (1930 to 2000), Time Magazine Archive (1923 to 2000), and Life Magazine Archive (1936– 2000).
New
MathSciNet, from the American Mathematical Society (AMS), offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Trial
Nature is a leading weekly, international scientific journal dedicated to serving the scientific and medical communities and the wider scientifically interested general public Shapiro Library only has access to the journal Nature.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
  • This resource contains newspaper articles.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
New
The Nineteenth Century Index (C19), from Chadwyck Healey US, is the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. C19 Index includes the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
The Patrologia Latina Database, from Chadwyck Healey US, is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers are included.
  • This resource contains streaming video.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
  • This resource contains newspaper articles.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
  • This resource contains data or statistics.
  • This resource contains images or artwork.
  • This resource contains all or mostly scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles.
New
ProQuest includes all ProQuest Central databases as well as many primary source databases.
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
New
Science is a weekly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews and analyses of current research and science policy. Shapiro Library has access to Science (1997-Present) and the Science Classic Archive (1880-1996).
  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
  • This resource contains data or statistics.
New
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
  • This resource contains data or statistics.
New
The Statistical Insight Collection spans millions of full-text reports and more than 1 million published tables on thousands of different topics. It provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
  • This resource contains archival materials or primary source documents.
New
U.K. Parliamentary Papers empowers researchers to explore the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through a vast and authoritative archive of official government documents spanning three centuries. Includes House of Commons and House of Lords papers.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...