Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Shapiro Library Blog

Finding Career Information

by Elyse Wolf on 2019-05-01T09:04:42-04:00 | Comments

It's graduation season! That means finishing up your final papers or projects and polishing up your resume. Shapiro Library has several resources to help you with your career search.

Career Guide

Our Career Resources Guide provides many resources on researching a career or company, as well as resume and cover letter resources. Pro-tip: always personalize your cover letters to the job you are applying to. 

Career Resources

  • This resource contains full-text articles and reports from journals and magazines.
Vault is a a highly rated one-stop shop for all your career needs. Search job and internship openings, for company information, or check out their career advice blog, resume writing and interview tips, and more.
  • This resource contains ebooks.
  • This resource contains research tools or software.
Collection of databases or "Centers" providing tools to assist with educational skills and career goals. Centers contain skill-building exercises, tutorials, e-books and interactive practice tests for professional and graduate exams. Includes Praxis, N-CLEX, GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT, TOEFL, and more. Users may have to register for a free account to access some materials.

Web Resources

One of the best sources to find career information is the Occupational Outlook Handbook by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. You can browse occupations by pay or growth. The career information includes job description, median pay, work environment, job outlook.  

The Ask a Manger site is also a valuable source of job related information. Check out their topic page about new grads. Not sure where the line between self-promotion and overconfidence is? Ask a Manager covered that in their post "where’s the line between necessary self-promotion and overconfidence in cover letters?"

Don't forget to check out the resources provided by the SNHU Career (Online Students) and the SNHU Career Development Center (Undergraduate Day Students)


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...