Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Shapiro Library Blog

Navigating the Library Website: Periodical Finder

by Elyse Wolf on 2019-06-19T09:00:00-04:00 | Comments

Are you a new SNHUdent? Are you unsure where to even start looking for information on the library website?  This is the second of a series of posts that will cover the library's website with explanations and tips for success. 

What is the Periodical Finder?

The Periodical Finder allows users to:

  • Search for an individual journal by title or ISSN number
  • Browse journals by title or by subject.
  • See if the library has access to a journal and if so, how much access we have to it (e.g. issues from ten years ago to today)
  • Where they can access the journal (e.g. in a database vs. in our print collection). 

Scenario: You have an article citation and want to find out if the library subscribes to the journal.  Let's say the article is in the Journal of International Affairs. You can find out if the library has this journal by following these steps:

  1. Search for the Journal of International Affairs by entering the title in the search box and clicking the search button.

    Screenshot of an example search in the Periodical Finder. It shows the search box and the Search button.

  2. Look at the options for access - what databases/collections provide access and what dates do they cover?

    Screenshot of the Journal of International Affairs in Periodical Finder.

  3. Pick the database/collection that will contain the article. For example, if the article was published in the 1950s look for a database that provides full text access for that date - in this case the ProQuest Periodical Archive Online.

Where do I find the Periodical Finder?

The Periodical Finder is linked in many FAQs and Research Guides. The link exists in the main navigation menu of the library's website under "Find Articles, eBooks, & More". The screenshot below shows the Periodical Finder link in the menu.

Screenshot of where to find the Periodical Finder in the library website's navigation menu. The link is located in the drop down under "Find Articles, eBooks, & More"

Why would I use it?

Most Useful For

  • Searching for individual journals by title, ISSN, or browsing journals by title or subject
  • Determining where to access a specific journal and how much access we have to a specific journal

Cautions

  • Does not allow users to search within multiple journals at once (like a database does), rather to search for, access, and use individual journals (e.g. The Harvard Business Review)

Our Recommendation

Consider using the Periodical Finder primarily when you:

  • Have a specific journal in mind that you'd like use
  • Want to know if we have access to a specific journal
  • Want to know if there are multiple access points for a journal
  • Want to browse all the journals we have an a particular subject (e.g. Biology)
  • Want to confirm that the library doesn't have access before placing an Interlibrary Loan request.

Video

Check out the "Shapiro Library - Periodical Finder" video below for more information on how to use the Periodical Finder.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...