Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

Off-Campus Library Services Information

This LibGuide outlines the policies and procedures for off-campus students, faculty & staff utilizing the services and resources of the Shapiro Library.

What Should I Do If You Don't Have the Article That I Need?

Policy for Interlibrary Loan for Articles

    No college or university library can provide immediate access to every journal, magazine, newspaper, or publication that exists in the world of media or that may have articles cited in its online databases.  

   Interlibrary Loan is a service which provides SNHU students & faculty access to articles in journals and periodicals not available through Shapiro Library's print or online database collections.

Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list. We may already have it in our collection or databases:

Periodical Finder

    All article requests must be transmitted using the Interlibrary Loan link located on the Shapiro Library page inside the mySNHU Portal. Interlibrary Loan requests submitted in any other format will be directed to this specific form for resubmission.

    The Interlibrary Loan service link will require you to login to your Interlibrary Loan account. If you have never used our Interlibrary Loan service; you'll be required to fill out a registration form the first time only. Most article interlibrary loans are digitally transmitted and deposited into your Interlibrary Loan account. The complete process to fulfill your request will take approximately 3 to 5 business days.

   In order for all of the University’s library students & faculty to have reasonable access to Interlibrary Loan services, Interlibrary Loan submissions are limited to 5 per person, per day. The timeframe for materials requested to be delivered will depend upon the volume requested, the provider’s location, and the means of transmission from the lending library.

    Currently there are no charges for Interlibrary Loan service for articles.

 

 

Shapiro Library's Print Collection Article Delivery Service

Article Requests from Shapiro Library's In-House Collections

   Off-campus students & faculty may request copies of articles from the Library's in-house print journals and periodicals by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request Form. In the "Notes" box at the bottom of the Request Form, please indicate that the publication and article are only available via the Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection.

    Use of copied articles must be in accordance with copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code).

   Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list as we may already have it available in one of our online article databases.

 

    Periodical Finder

    The Periodical Finder, located under the drop down tab "Find Articles, eBooks & More" on the top tool bar of the Shapiro Library Home Page is a drop tab: "Find Articles, eBooks, & More" that includes an online journal title list titled "Periodical Finder" that includes all of the full-text periodicals subscribed to within our online databases as well as our in-house print journal, magazine and newspaper collections. Those records will include a date range of coverage and indicate the title to be in: Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection

   Copied articles from in-house titles will be transmitted in a timely manner, usually via e-mail. There are no charges for copying or forwarding articles from our in-house periodical collections. Articles do not have to be returned to the Library.