This guide discusses understanding information sources, formulating a topic and search phrase, where and how to search the library for information, how to evaluate sources, how to cite sources, and more.
The Multi-Search allows users to search multiple databases at the same time. Users can find scholarly articles, books, eBooks, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, book reviews, and more using the Multi-Search.
Searching many sources at once and saving time by "casting a wide net" instead of searching individual databases one at a time
Searching for a lot of different material types at once (e.g. books and eBooks, scholarly articles, newspapers, streaming video, etc.)
Cautions
Can be overwhelming--searches that are not specific enough may bring back too many results
Doesn't search ALL library databases and electronic resources--users may miss some good sources if they only use the Multi-Search
Our Recommendation
Consider using the Multi-Search primarily when you
Are having trouble finding information on your topic
Are not sure where to start looking for information on your topic
Have a fairly specific topic in mind
Are interested in finding a wide variety of source types.
A-Z Database List
The A-Z Database List allows users to find and search individual databases that the library subscribes to. Users can view all the databases alphabetically, search for a database by title, or use the three drop downs on the A-Z Database List to search for databases by subject, type, or vendor. Wave over the icons next to each database for more information about each one.
Uses
Most Useful For
Searching for resources within individual databases such as EBSCOhost, Project Muse, JSTOR, etc.
Determining which databases would be best for your research depending on the subject you are researching, the types of sources you need, or the vendor who provides the database
Cautions
Requires users to search in each database individually to find sources--can be time consuming (with a few exceptions, e.g. EBSCOhost)
Requires users to determine which database would be most appropriate for their research--users who are unsure which database to use should ask a librarian by chatting or emailing ask@snhu.libanswers.com.
Our Recommendation
Consider using the A - Z Database List primarily when you
Want to save time by searching in subject-specific, source type-specific, or vendor-specific database for sources
Have been given a recommended database to use by a professor or librarian
Have either a fairly specific topic or a broad topic in mind
Are interested in finding a wide variety of source types.
Periodical Finder
The Periodical Finder allows users to search for an individual journal by title or ISSN number. Users can also browse journals by title or by subject. The Periodical Finder allows users to see if the library has access to a journal and if so, how much access we have to it (e.g. issues from ten years ago to today) and where they can access the journal (e.g. in a database vs. in our print collection).
Uses
Most Useful For
Searching for individual journals by title, ISSN, or browsing journals by title or subject
Determining where to access a specific journal and how much access we have to a specific journal
Cautions
Does not allow users to search within multiple journals at once (like a database does), rather to search for, access, and use individual journals (e.g. The Harvard Business Review)
Our Recommendation
Consider using the Periodical Finder primarily when you:
Have a specific journal in mind that you'd like use
Want to know if we have access to a specific journal
Want to know if there are multiple access points for a journal
Want to browse all the journals we have an a particular subject (e.g. Biology)
