Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

Getting Started with Research at Shapiro Library

This guide discusses understanding information sources, formulating a topic and search phrase, where and how to search the library for information, how to evaluate sources, how to cite sources, and more.

Citing Business & Legal Sources

Citing Legal Sources

The library provides access to resources like books, ebooks, and websites that can help you cite legal sources. Please visit our Citing Your Sources guide or explore the books and web resources listed below for help. You may also want to contact the Wolak Learning Center (UC Students) or Online Writing Center (COCE Students) for additional information about citing legal sources.

More Information on Citing Sources

Citing Business Sources

The library provides access to resources like books, ebooks, and websites that can help you cite business sources. Please visit our Citing Your Sources guide or explore the books and web resources listed below for help. You may also want to contact the Wolak Learning Center (UC Students) or Online Writing Center (COCE Students) for additional information about citing business sources.

Helpful Books from the Library:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Book Cover

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433805592
Publication Date: 2009-07-15

The Chicago Manual of Style Book Cover

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01

More Information on Citing Sources

Examples of Business Sources Cited in APA Style

The current University Course Catalog states: The School of Business recognizes the American Psychological Association (APA) citation guidelines as the standard to be used in all business courses. Please visit our Citing Your Sources guide or contact the Wolak Learning Center (UC Students) or Online Writing Center (COCE Students) for additional assistance citing business sources.

Do not copy/paste from these examples for your assignments (always double check your work) and be sure to check with your professor as to what citation style is required for each assignment!

 

Citing Industry Codes: NAICS

U.S. Census Bureau. (2007). 2007 NAICS definitions, 448110, Men's clothing stores. Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/econ/industry/current/c448110.htm

Citing Industry Codes: SIC

Occupational Safety & Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor. (1987). SIC description for 2251. Retrieved from http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.display?id=488&tab=description

Citing SWOT Analyses

SWOT from Business Source Complete:

Datamonitor: NIKE, Inc. NIKE, Inc. SWOT Analysis, (2011). Retrieved from Business Source Complete.

SWOT from Datamonitor:

Datamonitor: NIKE, Inc. NIKE, Inc. SWOT Analysis, (2011). Retrieved from Datamonitor 360.

Citing Videos & Advertisments

Video from YouTube:

FutureRetro2010. (2011, July 11). Toyota Venza 2011 Commercial [Video file]. Retrieved from http://youtu.be/HLpDzeXNg_o

Advertisement, with title:

Hostess. (1988, March 9). Eat Twinkies [Advertisement]. Newsweek, 12.

Advertisement, without title:

Hostess. (1988, March 9). [Advertisement for Twinkies]. Newsweek, 12.

Source: University of Michigan Libraries

Citing Financial Information

SEC Filing from EDGAR:

NIKE, Inc. (2008). Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 27, 2008. Retrieved from http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

Citing Articles from Business Databases

From ABI-INFORM:

Meagher, K.J., & Zauner, K.G.  (2005, June).  Location-then-price competition with uncertain consumer tastes. Economic Theory25(4), 799.  Retrieved from ABI-INFORM database.

From Business Insights Essentials:

Gale Cengage Learning. (n.d.). Facebook, Inc. [company profile]. Retrieved November 17, 2014, from Business Insights: Essentials database.

Grant, T. (Ed.). (2008). Facebook, Inc. International directory of company histories (Vol.20). Detroit: St. James Press. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database.

Aircraft. (2014) In Encyclopedia of American industries. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale. Retrieved from Business Insights Essentials database.

Miller, C.C. (2008, December 5). Twitter's dance with Facebook. New York Times, p. B6. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database.

Top social networking sites, 2013. (2015). In R. S. Lazich (Ed.), Market Share Reporter. Detroit: Gale. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database. 

From Business Source Complete:

Steinberg, B. (2008, December 1). Repeat ad nauseam: TV spots risk driving consumers away. Advertising Age,79(44), p1-10, 2p. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

MarketLine. (2014, September 5). V.F. Corporation [company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

From Hoover's:

Hoovers, Inc. (2014). Apple, Inc. [company record]. Retrieved from Hoover’s Online database.

From Lexis-Nexis Academic:

Punch, L.  (2004, July 1).  Going abroad: Bad debt.  Credit Card Management, 17(4), 38. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

Lowe's Companies Inc. (2009, September 3). Form 10-K. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

From Mintel Academic:

Mintel. (2012, September). Breakfast foods - US - 2012. Retrieved from Mintel Academic database.

From Mergent Online:

Mergent. (2010). Apple Inc. Company Financials. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Mergent. (2010). Asia-Pacific Media Sectors. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

From OneSource:

OneSource. (2010). Jiji Press Ltd [company profile]. Retrieved from OneSource database.

Risk Management Association. (2010). Financial ratio benchmarks for NAICS 443112. Retrieved from OneSource database.

Datamonitor. (2009, November). Airlines in Chile [industry profile]. Retrieved from OneSource database.

Boeing. (2009, September 30). 10-Q. Retrieved from OneSource database.

From S & P NetAdvantage:

Standard and Poor's. (2010, February 11). Aerospace & Defense. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Standard and Poor's. (2010, Feb. 16). General Electric. Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

From Sage Journals Online:

Beinberg, S. (2009, December). Repeat ad nauseam: Radio spots risk driving consumers away. Journal of Advertising Research ,79(44), p43-50, 8p. Retrieved from Sage Journals Online database.

From Wall Street Journal:

DeYoung, R. (2010, April 14). Congress takes aim at payday loans. Wall Street Journal, A13.. Retrieved from Wall Street Journal database.  

From Value Line:

Value Line.  (2009, June 2).  Agilent Technologies Stock Report.  Retrieved from Value Line database.

More Information on Citing Sources

Loading