Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

Getting Started with Research at Shapiro Library

This guide discusses understanding information sources, formulating a topic and search phrase, where and how to search the library for information, how to evaluate sources, how to cite sources, and more.

Citation Management Tools

What is a Citation Management Tool?

A Citation Management Tool is software that allows you to store and organize citation information (e.g. title, author, publication date, etc.). Most also allow users to create a reference list, bibliography, or work cited page from the citations stored in the management tool and some even assist with in-text citations, creating annotated bibliographies, organizing research, and more. Most tools offer assistance with citing sources in a variety of styles like APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

Please note that when working with citation management tools it's extremely important that the citation information stored in these tools is correct. For example, if a citation is exported to a citation management tool in all UPPER CASE LETTERS when that citation is output as a source on a reference list it will be listed in all UPPER CASE LETTERS. Typically, that type of detail is NOT corrected by the citation management tool, so users should always double check the citation information that they are entering into or exported to the citation management tool.

As with any tool, there are benefits and drawbacks to using citation management tools that you should consider:

Benefits:
  • Allows users to store and organize citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • Allows for quick processing of bibliographies, in-text citations, etc.
Drawbacks:
  • May contain errors--users still need to proofread and correct citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • May not include every citation style or up-to-date information

 

More Information on Citing Sources

EasyBib

EasyBib is a citation generator tool which can also allow users to create a personal database of bibliographic references and automatically format a bibliography with citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style. The Shapiro Library provides access to an institutional account with Easybib which you can access on the A - Z Database List.

With EasyBib you can:

  • Search for references by entering a website URL, title or a book or article, etc. to generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style
  • Manually enter or import citation information to generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style
  • Create a title page and bibliography for your research paper
  • Create a personal research database online 

First Time Users

New users may choose to register with EasyBib to create an account and save their citations for later use. However please note that users do not have to register to use the citation generator features in EasyBib.

Help Using EasyBib

Check out the EasyBib Knowledge Base for help using this tool or ask a librarian for additional assistance.

More Information on Citing Sources

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. You can access RefWorks on the A - Z Database List.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Gather references automatically from article databases and indexes while you research
  • Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database online 
  • Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
  • Share references with others
  • Download and use Write-N-Cite

First Time Users

When accessing RefWorks from this link, new users need to create a username and password (we suggest using the same username and password that is used for SNHU e-mail).  PLEASE NOTE: If you have already signed up for a RefWorks account through Blackboard and you use the library link, it is necessary to add bb- before you user name or  bb-firstname.lastname@snhu.edu.

RefWorks Group Code is: RWSNHampU

Help Using RefWorks

An overview of features can be found on the RefWorks Quick Start Guide.  Questions about RefWorks can be directed to Aaron Flint, Manager of Instructional Support.

For more information, visit the Using RefWorks @ SNHU page or Citing Your Sources page.

More Information on Citing Sources

ProQuest Flow

ProQuest Flow is a citation management tool that allows users to save citation citations, information about your research, full text articles, and more. ProQuest Flow is available to currently enrolled SNHU students, faculty and staff via the ProQuest Flow login page.

With ProQuest Flow you can:

  • Download the "Save to Flow" button to collect data and full text materials from databases and websites
  • Drag and drop, import, or manually enter and store citation information
  • Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.)
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database online 
  • Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Highlight and annotate documents
  • Share references with others
  • Integrate with Microsoft Word and Dropbox for seamless citation management

First Time Users

New users must sign up for ProQuest Flow with their SNHU email address.

Help Using ProQuest Flow

Check out the ProQuest Flow support page for help using this tool or ask a librarian for additional assistance.

More Information on Citing Sources

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free research and reference manager which generations citations and bibliographies. It also allows users to save citations for access from any computer linked to the Internet. Click here to create a free account or here to sign in if you already have one. More information about Mendeley is available here or visit their help guides and video tutorials for more assistance using this product.

Zotero

Zotero is a free research and reference organizer that helps you collect and organize your research and cite your sources. It also allows users to save citations and bibliographies for access from any computer linked to the Internet. Click here to create a free account or here to sign in if you already have one. More information about Zotero is available here or visit their quick start guide and video tutorials for more assitance using this product.

More Information on Citing Sources

Microsoft Word Citation Tools

If need assistance using Microsoft Word Citation Tools, check out the videos below from Atomic Learning. Atomic Learning is available to all currently enrolled SNHU students, faculty, and staff--please log in with you mySNHU credentials.

More Information on Citing Sources

Loading