Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

Linking Shapiro Library Database Content in the LMS

This Guide provides directions on where to locate and copy unique article URLs or DOIs in various Shapiro Library databases. It includes information on the necessary use of our EZ Proxy Server address and a Link Generator that automates the procedure.

About the Shapiro Library's EZproxy Server Address

    Persistent, durable, or stable-linked content from a number of our Shapiro Library content databases can be inserted in any learning management system sections that allow for external links. Students accessing your chosen content from off-campus must login through the University's mySNHU portal prior to accessing linked database content.

    After inserting a content URL into a learning management system section, you must build the following proxy server address as a prefix onto the front of the URL:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=

    A sample from an EBSCO database such as Academic Search Complete would look like:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,url,cpid&custid=shapiro&db=a9h&AN=65371324&site=ehost-live

   

    This guide also includes a Link Generator that will automate the procedure of building the appropriate link for a URL or DOI from many of our databases where still necessary. This may be used in lieu of manually building the appropriate URL.

    Some databases use a "digital object identifier" or DOI as the component of their linking format. Those are noted on the database list below. The link generator can also create an appropriate link solely from a DOI.

   A number of our database vendors including among others: EBSCOHost, ProQuest, and Gale database articles will have our proxy server address already built onto the front end of an article's URL.

  

  Faculty and staff are reminded to verify articles for accessibility and/or technical changes in the article URLs when using the same articles during subsequent semesters or terms. Database vendors’ access to materials or its content linking format could be subject to change over time.

Special Note: Harvard Publishing forbids linking of their Harvard Business Review articles  (accessed through the Business Source Complete or Business Source Ultimate database) into any learning management system. Students may be textually directed to locate selected article titles in HBR via Business Source Complete/Ultimate, but the articles may not be linked from within any LMS.

Directions for Locating Content URLs or DOIs in Shapiro Library Databases

ABI/INFORM:

     1.) Locate your desired article in the database.

     2.) Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".

     3.) Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.

     4.) Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section that you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

Access Science

       1.) Locate your desired content in the database.

       2.) Locate the "Link" option to the right of the content title.

       3.) Copy and paste the link URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project:

  1. ) Conduct your book search in the database and click on your chosen book’s link.
  2. ) At the bottom of the book’s main web page below its Catalog Record look for the URL line.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

ACM Digital Library Core Collection:

  1. ) Locate the article that you wish to link and click on its title.
  2. ) Find the “doi” (Digital Object Identifier) located below the citation information and copy it. ( do not include "<" in the copy )
  3. ) Paste the “DOI Bookmark” into the LMS section you are linking from and build on both the proxy server address and the following: http://dx.doi.org .
  4. ) A article linked  from the ACM Digital Library will be entered as:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/2445196.2445201

 

AIAA Journals

     1. ) Perform a search in the AIAA journals and click on the "Full Text" or PDF options.

     2. ) Locate and copy the DOI number from the full text page

     3. ) Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org

 

Alexander Street Press: Academic Video Online

     1. ) Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link

     2. ) Locate and open the "Embed/Link" option below the video screen.

     3. ) Paste the Permanent link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

ASME Digital Collection

      1. ) Perform a search in the journals, conference proceedings, eBook, or topic collections.

      2. ) Open the link to the title page and locate the DOI number for the item.

      3. ) Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org

 

Books 24x7:

  1. ) Locate the book or chapter of your choice.
  2. ) Click on the "Share" icon in the upper portion of the screen
  3. ) The URL, with the SNHU Ezproxy server address built onto the front end, will come up onscreen.
  4. ) You will need to copy the link, remove the plus (+) sign from the end of the link and replace with the book ID from the URL in your browser.

 

Click the image to see an example of where to find both required pieces to link to the book:

 

Britannica Online:

  1. ) Locate the encyclopedia entry that you wish to link and click on its title.
  2. ) Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Business Insights: Essentials

  1. ) Locate the article that you wish to link to.
  2. ) Click on the grey "Share" tab.
  3. ) Copy the URL and paste it into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

The Chronicle of Higher Education and The Chronicle of Philanthropy:

  1. ) Find your desired article in full text in the database.
  2. ) Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server prefix address.

CQ Researcher:

  1. ) Find your CQ Researcher Report in HTML format and proceed to the bottom of the document.
  2. ) Copy the "Document URL" link at the bottom of the page.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

CRCnetBASE:

     1. ) Locate the book or book chapter of your choice.

     2. ) Copy the URL in your browser address bar.

     3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Credo Reference:

  1. ) Find your desired definition or entry in full text in the database.
  2. ) Copy the URL located in the Citation box at the end of the entry.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the entry's URL..

 

Dissertations & Theses: Global:

  1. ) Locate your desired dissertation or theses in the database.
  2. ) Click on the "Abstract/Details" link below the document title.
  3. ) Pull the page down and locate the line for the "Document URL". 
  4. ) Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals:

  1. ) Locate your desired article in the directory.
  2. ) Copy the URL in your browser address bar.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from.

 

E-Book Central:

  1. ) Locate your book through the Online Catalog or Ebook Central database and open up the book.
  2. ) Look for the "Share Link" icon option for the entire book or an individual chapter or page and copy the link.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.
  4. ) Here's a sample chapter link:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/snhu-ebooks/reader.action?ppg=1209&docID=1524088&tm=1501599037098

 

EBSCOHost Full Content Databases & Indexes: Academic Search Complete, Academic Search Ultimate, America History & Life, Art Full Text, Book Index with Reviews, Business Source Complete, Business Source Ultimate, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, CINAHL Complete, Cochrane Collection Plus, Communications and Mass Media Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, EconLit, Education Full Text, ERIC, Family & Society Studies Worldwide, GreenFILE, Health Source, Hospitality & Tourism Complete , Humanities International Complete, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Medline, Mental Measurements Handbook, Military and Government Collection, MLA International Bibliography, NCJRS Abstracts, Newspaper Source, PsycARTICLES, PsycEXTRA, PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, Regional Business News,  SocINDEX with Full Text, and SPORTDiscus

  1. ) Perform an article search in your selected database.
  2. ) Click on the title of the chosen article to bring up its citation and/or abstract.
  3. ) Click on the "Permalink" link in the right hand column and copy the article's URL.
  4. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.
  5. ) In the case of the Indexes and all articles available only in PDF format, the “Permalink” will connect back to the abstract of the article that will include a link to the PDF copy or to the “Linked Full Text” to the appropriate EBSCO database containing the article content.

 

EBSCOhost EJS:

     1. ) Locate the article that you want to link to and click on its title.

     2. ) Copy the URL located below the abstract and citation.

     3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

eBooks Collection (EBSCOhost):

  1. ) Locate your book of interest in the collection and click on it's title link.
  2. ) From next page look in the right hand column for the icon signifying "Permalink".
  3. ) Copy and paste the "Permalink" URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

Emerald Case Studies:

       1. ) Locate the case study that you want to link to and click on the title link.

       2. ) The "Citation" information will include a link containing the case's DOI number.

       3. ) Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org

 

Emerald Journals:

  1. ) Conduct your search and locate the desired article in Emerald.
  2. ) Click on the "View HTML" or "Abstract" link beneath the article's citation.
  3. ) Copy the DOI (Permanent URL) as located on either page.
  4. ) Paste it into the LMS section you are linking from and build on both the proxy server address and the following: http://dx.doi.org
  5. ) A linked article from Emerald would be entered as:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/08876049910298775

 

EngNETBase:

     1. ) Locate the book or book chapter of your choice.

     2. ) Copy the URL in your browser address bar.

     3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

 ERIC Documents (from U.S. Dept. of Education or EBSCO versions):

    1.) Find your Document in the ERIC database of your choice and bring up its .PDF file

    2.) Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.

    3.) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. ERIC Documents are freely accessible

       via both the open source at U.S. Dept.of Education or EBSCO, and will not require the use of the proxy server address.

 

Films on Demand:

    1. ) Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link

     2. ) Locate and open the "Embed/Link" option below the video screen.

     3. ) Paste the Permanent link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

Gale Full Content Databases: Academic Onefile, Biography in Context, Educators' Reference Complete, Gale Literary Sources, Gale Virtual Reference List, General Onefile, Global Issues in Conflict, GreenR, Health Reference Center Academic, Infotrac Newsstand, LEGALTRAC, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Science in Context, Student Resources in Context, U.S. History in Context, World History in Context

     1.) Bring up the full text of your article or content material.

     2.) Look in the Gale database toolbar at the top of the screen and open up the link for: "Bookmark".

     3.) Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

Grove Art Online:

  1. ) Locate the Grove Art entry that you wish to link to onscreen.
  2. ) Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

      

Grove Music Online:

  1. ) Locate the Grove Music entry that you wish to link to onscreen.
  2. ) Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. ) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

HeinOnline Law/Legal Databases; Journal Library; U.S. Congressional Documents Library:

1.)  Find your document in the database.

2.)  Locate the icon in the tool bar above the content for “Permanent Link To This Page”.

3.)  Copy the URL that will open in an external window.

4.)  Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

IEEE Xplore Digital Library:

1.) Find your document in the database.

2.) Locate and copy the DOI below the article title and author information.

3.) Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org .

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences and Encyclopedia of Biodiversity ( via ScienceDirect ):

1.)  Conduct your search and bring up the HTML text of the section that you want to link to.

2.)  Locate the DOI including its prefix: http://dx.doi.org at the top of the right hand column of the page.

3.)  Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

4.)  An article linked from the IES&BS will be entered as: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/B0-08-043076-7/03712-8

 

 JSTOR:

1.)  Find your chosen article and click on its title.

2.)  Locate the Stable URL under the journal title and publishing information at the top of the screen.

3.)  Copy and paste Stable URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address. 

 

Kanopy:

1.) Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link.

2.) Click on the "Share" tab below the screen and film title and copy the link.

3.) Paste the Share link into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Lexis-Nexis Academic:

1.)  Locate your chosen article and click on its title to bring up the full text.

2.)  Locate and click the icon to: "Copy Document Link" (if available) above the article's title on the right hand side of the screen.

3.)  Right mouse click on the the article's link; choose to: Copy Shortcut or Copy Link Location. Paste it into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

 

 Literature Criticism Online:

1.)  Conduct your article search in the database and bring up the full text content.

2.)  If you see an InfoMark (a blue circle with a yellow "i" inside) next to the document title or author’s name, you can copy the URL from your browser's address bar.

3.)  Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Literature Online (LION):

1.) Locate your desired content and click on the content link.

2.) Open up the "Link to this page" option near the top of the page.

3.) Copy and paste Durable URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address. 

 

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service from U.S. Dept. of Justice or EBSCO versions):

1.)    Find your Document in the NCJRS database of your choice and bring up its .PDF file

2.)    Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.

3.)    Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. NCJRS Documents are freely accessible

       and will not require the use of the proxy server address.

 

 New York Times - Historical (1851 – 2006):

1.)  Locate your desired article in the database and click on the title link.

2.)  Click on the tab to the "Abstract/Details" for the article.

3.)   Locate the line below the citation for the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.

4.)  Paste the link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

 Ovid Journals:


1.) Conduct search for journal in Find a Journal link off library website.

2.) In Ovid, select Journals tab.

3.) Locate Journal, click to open, find desired issue, then click on title of desired article.

4.) Click Email Jumpstart - PDF, and copy URL.

5.) Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address. 

 

 

Oxford Art Online:

1.)   Find your desired article in full text in the database.

2.)    Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.

3.)    Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Periodicals Archive Online:

1.)  Locate your article citation with full text in the database.

2.)  Click on the “Bookmark this item” link.

3.)  Copy the “Durable URL” link that will open in an external window.

4.)  Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

 Project Muse:

1.)   Locate your article citation with full text in the results list.

2.)   Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.

3.)   Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server prefix address.

 

 

 Proquest Central and Its Collections: Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, Biology, Canadian Newstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Computing Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Education, Family Health, Health and Medical Complete, Military Collection, Nursing & Allied health Source, Proquest Newspapers, Psychology Journals, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Telecommunications:

1.)    Locate and bring up the text of your desired article in the database.

2.)    Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".

3.)    Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.

4.)   Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

 

 Psychiatry Online:

1.)    Conduct your article search in the database and bring up the full text content.

2.)    Below the title there will be the URL for the article.

3.)    Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

SAGE Premier, SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Business Cases Online:

1.)    Locate your chosen article and click on the link for its Abstract.

2.)    Locate the DOI on the Abstract page.

3.)    Copy the DOI  and paste it into the LMS section you are linking from and build on both the proxy server address and http://dx.doi.org

4.)    An article linked from Sage Journals, Knowledge, and Business Cases would be entered as: 

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0163278708328738

 

SAGE Video:

1. ) Perform a search in the database and bring up the video record.

2. ) Locate and the DOI within the video record.

3. ) Paste the DOI link into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address. A necessary part of the link; http://dx.doi.org is already built onto the front end of the video's URL.

         

Science Direct:

1.)   Conduct a search in our “Subscribed” journal titles.

2.)   Locate your chosen article and click on its title link.

3.)   Locate the DOI underneath the journal title; volume and issue number.

 4.)  Copy and paste the DOI into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org .

 5.)  An article linked from ScienceDirect would be entered as: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.annals.2004.02.004

 

Shakespeare Survey:

1.) Conduct a search and bring up a list of results.

2.) Click on your chosen title link in the results and locate the Chapter DOI line.

3.) Paste the Chapter DOI link into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address along with: http://dx.doi.org

 

Swank Digital Campus Top 500:

1.) Locate your film that you want to link.

2.) Click on the "Copy LMS Link"

3.) Paste the link into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server address.

 

Wall Street Journal:

1.)    Locate and bring up the text of your desired article in the database.

2.)    Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".

3.)    Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.

3.)   Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.