Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes to many databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more. These are some of the recommended databases for doing research in the Humanities. For tips on searching within a database, see Search Tips. You can see a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to on our A - Z Database List.
Humanities
These databases contain resources that support research in the Humanities. You can find resources here on works of art, literature, music, and other types of artifacts.
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Literature
These databases contain resources on works of literature, including full text of literary works, literary criticisms, reviews, and more.
- Literature - Gale This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Gale Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Literature Criticism - Gale This link opens in a new windowLarge, extensive compilation of literary commentary. SNHU subscribes to: Contemporary Literary Criticism, 1960 - present; Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, 1900-1960; Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism; Shakespeare Criticism; and Poetry Criticism.
- Literature Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOver a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
- Poetry and Short Story Reference Center - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as eBooks, short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers. Permalinks to this database are not working normally, please try searching for the title in the Multi-Search or ask a librarian for help
Art and Music
These databases contain resources on art, art history and music, including images, scholarly resources, biographies, and more.
- Art Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFeaturing full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. It covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia with articles on visual arts from prehistory to the present day
Additional Web Resources
Here are a few resources found online, outside the library, that may help in your understanding of the Humanities as a whole, and with artifacts and themes within the field of Art History:
The Khan Academy provides a comprehensive series of short videos on art history. The "Art History Basics" section will introduce you to the the main themes and methods of art history, while the time period and culturally specific videos explore particular topics and artworks in greater depth.
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art: "The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection."
Request through Interlibrary Loan
We don't have what you need? You can use our Interlibrary Loan service to obtain resources not owned by the library.
To place a request, please log in to your Interlibrary Loan account using your mySNHU user name and password. Most requests are filled within 3-5 business days, but it can take 7-15 business days for requests to be filled.
Before placing an Interlibrary Loan request, please check the Online Library Catalog or Periodical Finder to be sure that we don't already own the material you are requesting. You can also reach out to a librarian by chat, email at ask@snhu.libanswers.com, or by phone, to see if we already have access to an alternative resource that you can use in your research.