Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Using Shapiro Library Content in the LMS

This guide is for SNHU instructional designers, course developers, deans, faculty and staff that want to use library resources in the LMS and to ensure best practices are followed.

Directions for Creating Links from Shapiro Library Databases


Use the following directions to learn how to create persistent and appropriate links to our database content. This will ensure that all SNHU users will be able to access them properly from the learning environment, whether on campus or at home, or wherever they are! Please note due to our license agreements and fair use, our content cannot be downloaded and placed inside the LMS or LOR. 

ABI/INFORM

  1. Locate your desired article in the database.
  2. Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".
  3. Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.
  4. Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section that you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Access Science

  1. Locate your desired content in the database.
  2. Locate the "Link" option to the right of the content title.
  3. Copy and paste link into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project:

  1. Conduct your book search in the database and click on your chosen book’s link.
  2. At the bottom of the book’s main web page below its Catalog Record look for the URL line.
  3. Copy and paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

ACM Digital Library Core Collection:

  1. Locate the resource that you wish to link and click on its title.
  2. Copy the URL from your browser, which will look something like this: https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=2811055
  3. Paste the URL into the EzProxy generator
  4. Use the URL from the generator in the LMS, which will look something like this: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=2811055  

 AIAA Journals

  1. Perform a search in the AIAA journals and click on the "Full Text" or PDF options.
  2. Locate and copy the DOI number from the full text page
  3. Copy and paste the DOI into the DOI Link Generator.
  4. Use the generated link in the LMS.

Alexander Street Press: Academic Video Online

  1. Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link
  2. Locate and open the "Embed/Link" option below the video screen.
  3. Paste the Permanent link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

ASME Digital Collection

  1. Perform a search in the journals, conference proceedings, eBook, or topic collections.
  2. Open the link to the title page and locate the DOI number for the item.
  3. Copy and paste the DOI into the DOI Link Generator.
  4. Use the generated link in the LMS.

Atomic Learning/Hoonuit

Look for the arrow button under the learning module progress for share options. Click on link to copy and share. Or, you can:

  1. Take URL from browser address bar: https://learnit.hoonuit.com/5465/learnit 
  2. And add “?cn=snhu”: https://learnit.hoonuit.com/5465/learnit?cn=snhu?cn=snhu

Keep in mind that students need accounts (free to create) in order to access Atomic Learning/Hoonuit. Consider prepping students with this information when you link to resources in this database.

Britannica Online:

  1. Locate the encyclopedia entry that you wish to link and click on its title.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Business Expert Press/iGLibrary 

  1. Locate the e-book you would like to use
  2. Click into the record of the e-book that displays the title, bibliographic information and the links to read. Copy the URL from the browser's address bar
  3. Paste the URL into the URL Link Generator and copy the generated link with the ezproxy. Use in LMS. Chapter linking is not supported.

Business Insights: Essentials

  1. Locate the article that you wish to link to.
  2. Click on the grey "Share" tab.
  3. Copy the URL and paste it into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

The Chronicle of Higher Education and The Chronicle of Philanthropy

  1. Find your desired article in full text in the database.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server prefix address.

CQ Researcher

  1. Find your CQ Researcher Report in HTML format and proceed to the bottom of the document.
  2. Copy the "Document URL" link at the bottom of the page.
  3. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

CRCnetBASE (Taylor & Francis)

  1. Locate the book or book chapter of your choice.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser address bar, which may look like this: https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781466558748 
  3. Paste the URL into the EZproxy generator
  4. Use the URL from the generator in the LMS, which will look like this: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781466558748 

Credo Reference

  1. Find your desired definition or entry in the database and open it to read.
  2. Look up to the top blue tool bar and click on the chain looking icon which is the Permalink. 
  3. The link should already have our ezproxy stanza built on and should look like this: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/routengart/research_designs_for_empirical_research/0?institutionId=943
  4. Use this in the LMS

Dissertations & Theses: Global

  1. Locate your desired dissertation or theses in the database.
  2. Click on the "Abstract/Details" link below the document title.
  3. Pull the page down and locate the line for the "Document URL". 
  4. Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

  1. Locate your desired article in the directory.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser address bar.
  3. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from.

E-Book Central (ProQuest)

  1. Locate your book through the Online Catalog or Ebook Central database and open up the book.
  2. Look for the "Share Link" icon option on the record page and copy the link.
  3. Paste the URL into EZproxy URL generator and click create link, use the generated URL in the LMS
  4. Here's a sample EZproxy generated URL: 

    http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/snhu-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3020166  

 

EBSCOHost Full Content Databases & Indexes & Multi-Search

Linking is consistent within each platform from EBSCO. Full list of EBSCO databases.

  1. Perform an article search in your selected database.
  2. Click on the title of the chosen article to bring up its citation and/or abstract.
  3. Click on the "Permalink" link in the right hand column and copy the article's URL.
  4. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.
  5. In the case of the Indexes and all articles available only in PDF format, the “Permalink” will connect back to the abstract of the article that will include a link to the PDF copy or to the “Linked Full Text” to the appropriate EBSCO database containing the article content.

EBSCOhost EJS

  1. Locate the article that you want to link to and click on its title.
  2. Locate the URL located below the abstract and citation.
  3. Copy and paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

eBooks Collection (EBSCOhost)

  1. Locate your book of interest in the collection and click on it's title link.
  2. From next page, the detailed record page,  look in the right hand column for the icon signifying "Permalink".
  3. Copy and paste the "Permalink" URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Emerald Case Studies

  1. Locate the case study that you want to link to and click on the title link.
  2. The "Citation" information will include a link containing the case's DOI number.
  3. Copy and paste the DOI into the DOI Link Generator.
  4. Use the generated link in the LMS.

Emerald Journals

  1. Conduct your search and locate the desired article in Emerald.
  2. Look for the DOI URL in the citation information
  3. Copy the DOI as located on either page, which will look like this: https://doi.org/10.1108/08876049910298775
  4. Paste it into the EZproxy generator 
  5. Use the generated permanent link which will look like this:

http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/08876049910298775

EngNETBase

  1. Locate the book or book chapter of your choice.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser address bar.
  3. Paste link into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

ERIC Documents (EBSCO)

  1. Find your Document in the EBSCO ERIC database
  • If the article lists full text access through ERIC and does not include a .pdf, click the full text access through ERIC link and follow directions for ERIC Documents (U.S. Dept. of Education) below
  • If the article includes .pdf full text in EBSCO, click on the article title link
  1. Click on the "Permalink" link in the right hand column and copy the article's URL
  2. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL. The “Permalink” will connect back to the abstract of the article that will include a link to the PDF copy or to the “Linked Full Text” to the appropriate EBSCO database containing the article content.

ERIC Documents (U.S. Dept. of Education)

  1. Find your Document in the public ERIC database and click on the article title link
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar
  3. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. ERIC Documents are freely accessible via the open source at U.S. Dept. of Education, and will not require the use of the proxy server address

Films on Demand

  1. Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link
  2. Locate and open the "Embed/Link" option below the video screen.
  3. Paste the Permanent link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Gale Full Content Databases

Linking is consistent within each platform from Gale. Full list of Gale databases.

  1. Bring up the full text of your article or content material.
  2. Look in the Gale database toolbar at the top of the screen and open up the link for: "Bookmark".
  3. Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Gartner

Gartner provides special reports which are updated on a semi-regular basis. Older reports will have an "Archived" status. Complimentary Research reports may have a limited life-span on the site providing users access for a limited timeframe.

Gartner uses Single Sign-on to authenticate users opposed to the standard ezproxy configuration. To link to an article:

  1. Bring up the actual report on the Gartner interface
  2. On the left-hand side use the Share icon, then click on the Share option
  3. Copy the DeepLink https://ssofed.gartner.com/url... to share with students or link in the LMS.

Grove Art Online

  1. Locate the Grove Art entry that you wish to link to onscreen.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.  

Grove Music Online

  1. Locate the Grove Music entry that you wish to link to onscreen.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

HeinOnline Law/Legal Databases; Journal Library; U.S. Congressional Documents Library

  1. Find your document in the database.
  2. Locate the icon in the tool bar above the content for “Permanent Link To This Page”.
  3. Copy the URL that will open in an external window.
  4. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  5. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Hoonuit / Atomic Learning

Can link to a series of videos, not to individual videos. 

  1. Original Link from URL in browser: https://www.atomiclearning.com/highed/hoonuit/436/nutrition-movement-wellbeing/#/overview  
  2. Remove the very end of the URL: https://www.atomiclearning.com/highed/hoonuit/436/nutrition-movement-wellbeing/#/overview
  3. And replace with “?cn=snhu”: https://www.atomiclearning.com/highed/hoonuit/436/nutrition-movement-wellbeing?cn=snhu

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

  1. Find your document in the database.
  2. Locate and copy the DOI below the article title and author information.
  3. Copy and paste the DOI into the DOI Link Generator under the Creating Persistent Links page. Your DOI number will be something like 10.1109/IEMBS...
  4. After the DOI number is put through the DOI Link Generator it will look like this: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/IEMBS.2011.6090664 use this in the LMS

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences and Encyclopedia of Biodiversity ( via ScienceDirect )

  1. Conduct your search and bring up the HTML text of the section that you want to link to.
  2. Locate the DOI including its prefix: http://dx.doi.org at the top of the right hand column of the page.
  3. Copy and paste DOI into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.
  5. An article linked from the IES&BS will be entered as: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/B0-08-043076-7/03712-8

JSTOR

  1. Find your chosen article and click on its title.
  2. Locate the Stable URL under the journal title and publishing information at the top of the screen.
  3. Copy and paste Stable URL into the EzProxy URL generator
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS

Kanopy

  1. Perform a search in the database and click on the video title link.
  2. Click on the "Share" tab below the screen and film title and copy the link.
  3. Copy and paste the "Share" URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Knovel

  1. Locate your chosen resource in the database and click on the citation link/button under the title of the item
  2. Copy the entire https link, will look like this: https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/toc/id:kpD0000011/spatiotemporal-random/spatiotemporal-random 
  3. Paste the https link into the URL link generator and copy the end result to use for off campus access. Double check it has the ezproxy stanza at the beginning.
    1. You may also link to specific pages/chapters, although the resource takes a little longer to load up. 
    2. When inside the ebook and on the chapter or page you wish to link to, click on the icon for create a citation at the top of the page (it is the " inside of a bubble. 
    3. Copy the retrieval statement URL and paste it into the URL link generator. Generate the link with the ezproxy stanza and place. 

Literature Criticism Online

  1. Conduct your article search in the database and bring up the full text content.
  2. If you see an InfoMark (a blue circle with a yellow "i" inside) next to the document title or author’s name, you can copy the URL from your browser's address bar.
  3. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Literature Online (LION)

  1. Locate your desired content and click on the content link.
  2. Open up the "Link to this page" option near the top of the page.
  3. Copy and the Durable URL.
  4. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  5. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service from U.S. Dept. of Justice or EBSCO versions)

  1. Find your Document in the NCJRS database of your choice and bring up its .PDF file
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. NCJRS Documents are freely accessible and will not require the use of the proxy server address.

New York Times - Historical (1851 – 2006):

  1.  Locate your desired article in the database and click on the title link.
  2. Click on the tab to the "Abstract/Details" for the article.
  3. Locate the line below the citation for the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.
  4. Paste the link into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Nexis Uni

  1. Locate your chosen article and click on its title to bring up the full text.
  2. Locate and click the Actions drop down that is located next to the title of the item at the top of the page
  3. Click on Link to this page from the Actions drop down 
  4. Copy and paste link into the EzProxy URL generator, it will look something like this: https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/2d4c45de-b540-4f05-b06c-b17ce1c07c97/?context=1516831 
  5. Use the generated URL in the LMS, which will look something like this: 

    http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/2d4c45de-b540-4f05-b06c-b17ce1c07c97/?context=1516831 

Ovid Journals (Nursing Journals on Ovid)

  1. Conduct search for journal in Find a Journal link off library website.
  2. In Ovid, select Journals tab.
  3. Locate Journal, click to open, find desired issue, then click on title of desired article.
  4. Click Email Jumpstart - PDF, and copy URL.
  5. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  6. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

OR

  1. If you are linked to the Ovid platform from the Multi-Search or other database and are brought into the new article view for Ovid
  2. Copy the URL from your browser which will look something like this https://oce.ovid.com/article/00006247-201404000-00011/HTML 
  3. Paste the URL into the Ezproxy Generator
  4. Your link will look something like this http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/autologin.html and is ready to go in the LMS

Oxford Art Online

  1. Find your desired article in full text in the database.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Copy and paste link into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Periodicals Archive Online

  1. Locate your article citation with full text in the database.
  2. Click on the “Bookmark this item” link.
  3. Copy the “Durable URL” link that will open in an external window.
  4. Paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  5. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Project Muse

  1. Locate your article citation with full text in the results list.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from and build on the proxy server prefix address.

Proquest Central and Its Collections

Linking is consistent within each platform from ProQuest. Full list of ProQuest databases.

  1. Locate and bring up the text of your desired article in the database.
  2. Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".
  3. Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.
  4. Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.

Psychiatry Online

  1. Conduct your article search in the database and bring up the full text content.
  2. Below the title there will be the URL for the article.
  3. Copy and paste URL into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Safari 

  1. Locate your book in the Safari database and pull up the book record or chapter you wish to link to create a permalink (Safari calls it a deep link) you must use this URL string as a prefix: https://safarijv.auth0.com/authorize?client_id=UtNi1m1IRXgzYFIwZrhSxell9EDRaL2v&response_type=code&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.safaribooksonline.com%2Fcomplete%2Fauth0%2Doauth2%2F&connection=SNHU&state=
  2. Identify the URL from the book screen*. An entire URL would look something like this: https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/cybersecurity-attack/9781788475297/
  3. You will need the /library/view/cybersecurity-attack/9781788475297/ portion of the URL and add that to the long string as mentioned in number 2
  4. The entire URL would look something like this: https://safarijv.auth0.com/authorize?client_id=UtNi1m1IRXgzYFIwZrhSxell9EDRaL2v&response_type=code&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.safaribooksonline.com%2Fcomplete%2Fauth0%2Doauth2%2F&connection=SNHU&state= /library/view/cybersecurity-attack/9781788475297/
  5. Test the link in both on campus and off campus environment (or ask an eLearning team member for assistance elibrarian@snhu.edu)

*For videos, the process is the same except the piece of the browser URL you need will look like this: /videos/comptia-security-sy0-201/9780789740007/9780789740007-SY0201_i20 

SAGE Databases (Knowledge, Sage Video, Sage Business Cases, Sage Premier, Sage Research Methods etc)

  1. Locate resource that you wish to link and click into the record.

  2. Sage resources can be linked two ways: by DOI number or by using the URL. We currently recommend using the browser URL and run that through the URL Link Generator, as linking to the DOI can sometimes create an additional Sage intermediary page when accessing from off campus. 

  3. Grab the URL from the browser's address bar will be something like this: http://sk.sagepub.com/video/assessing-english-language-learners 

  4. Paste the URL into the URL Link Generator and copy the new URL to use in the LMS: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://sk.sagepub.com/video/assessing-english-language-learners 

Sage Video Clip Links

  1. Locate Sage Video you wish to clip. Example: http://sk.sagepub.com.ezproxy.snhu.edu/video/customer-centricity-2

  2. Click on Create Clip under the video player.

  3. Sign in or create your personal Sage account

  4. Set the times for the clip

  5. Click on the Save...to my clips or to list

  6. A new window will pop open that says "Embed this video Clip"

  7. Copy the link where it says "Link to this page directly with a permalink" example: https://sk.sagepub.com/video/customer-centricity-2?clip=116432

  8. Run this link through the ezproxy generator and now it can be used in the LMS example: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://sk.sagepub.com/video/customer-centricity-2?clip=116436

Science (Journal from American Association for Advancement of Science)

  1. Locate the article you wish to link
  2. Grab the URL from your browser
  3. Paste the URL into the EZproxy generator
  4. Use the EZproxy generated URL in the LMS, example: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://advances.sciencemag.org/content/3/12/e1603021 

Science Direct

There are two accepted ways to build links using Science Direct. You may use the DOI number and run that through the URL generator to add the ezproxy information. You may also grab the URL from the browser and run that through the URL link generator. Either is acceptable. 

  1. Identify your chosen article and click on its title link, or view the record page if brought to this article from the Full Text Finder. 
  2. Locate the DOI underneath the journal title; volume and issue number. Or you may copy the URL from the browser.
  3. Copy and paste the DOI OR the URL into the URL Link Generator
  4. Use the generated URL to put into the LMS. Examples: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jand.2017.08.054 OR http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://www-sciencedirect-com/science/article/pii/S221226721731290X 

Shakespeare Survey

  1. Conduct a search and bring up a list of results.
  2. Click on your chosen title link in the results and locate the Chapter DOI line.
  3. Copy and paste the DOI into the DOI Link Generator.
  4. Use the generated link in the LMS.

SpringerLink

This vendor provides access to some of our digital journal subscriptions. You may come across this platform from the Periodical Finder or Full Text Finder tool. This is not listed on our A-Z Database List.

  1. Locate the resource you wish to use
  2. Look to the right side of the SpringLink record page and click on the Share article button
  3. You will be given a Shareable Link that looks like this: https://rdcu.be/5jq2 
  4. This link can be used in the LMS without ezproxy information. 

Swank Digital Campus Top 500

  1. Locate your film that you want to link.
  2. Click on the "Copy LMS Link"
  3. Paste link into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Taylor & Francis Online 

  1. Locate the DOI number (usually below the title on the record page) for example: https://doi.org/10.1080/00918369.2017.1321361
  2. Copy the DOI number and paste it into the URL link generator
  3. The link should now have the ezproxy stanza for example: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1080/00918369.2017.1321361 

Vault Career Intelligence

  1. Locate the item you would like to use
  2. Look to the left side of the web page and click on the Direct URLs link
  3. Take the link for either the Title page or the Page
  4. Copy and paste the link into the Ezproxy URL generator
  5. Your link is now ready to be used in the LMS and should look something like this: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://guides.vault.com/View.aspx?ISBN=9781438134802&InstID=4618

Very Short Introductions

  1. Find your desired book or chapter in the database.
  2. Copy the URL in your browser’s address bar.
  3. Copy and paste link into the EzProxy URL generator.
  4. Use the generated URL in the LMS.

Wall Street Journal

  1. Locate and bring up the text of your desired article in the database.
  2. Click on the tab entitled: "Abstract/Details".
  3. Locate below the abstract in the "Details" section of the page the "Document URL" and copy the article's link.
  4. Copy and paste the URL into the LMS section you are linking from. The proxy server address is already built onto the front end of the article's URL.