Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Teaching English as a Foreign Language

This Guide organizes Shapiro Library and internet resources for the masters degree Program for TEFL in Vietnam and other locations around the world.

Why use databases?

When you use a library database, you are accessing resources that have been reviewed and approved by editors, peer-review boards, and librarians. 

There is a great deal of scholarly information, including journal articles, conference papers and proceedings, reports, studies, and other materials that are available through library databases.  This information is usually not available on the free web (ie, using search engines like Google and Yahoo!). 

The library purchases these databases for all SNHU faculty, students, and staff to use.  Most databases are subscription-based, meaning we pay for access every year. 

Use the resources available to you!  You should be able to find more reliable and authoritative information using the library electronic resources than just doing a Google search.  No matter what you use,  make sure you evaluate your sources for content, authority, timeliness, bias, and other factors. 

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like English, Vietnamese, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and more.

You will first be asked to create a profile using your SNHU e-mail address.

Education Databases

You can use the library databases to access articles.  Other resources, such as curriculum materials, conference proceedings, books, reviews, surveys, and reports are also available through the databases.

A listing of Education databases can also be found on the library website at: A-Z Databases: Education.

General tips:

  • Scholarly and non-scholarly materials are available in the databases.  If you want only scholarly, peer-reviewed sources, look for the checkbox or a limiter that says "academic" or "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" on the search screen.
  • Start with a keyword search. A keyword searches in the title, subject, author, abstract, etc. fields.  It is more general.
  • Remember Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).  For example: mathematics and curriculum and elementary
  • Use tricks like truncation (*), wildcards (? or !), and phrases ("").  For example: disciplin* and class* and "high school" 

Other Databases

Here are some more databases that can be useful in education research.  These databases are multidisciplinary, covering many topics.