Research is a Process
Conducting research to find information is a process, because there is no one perfect source to support every topic. You may find that you need to search through a variety of different kinds of resources, depending on the type of information you need.
- Reference material, such as an encyclopedia entry, is useful for finding basic facts and topic overviews.
- Newspapers and magazines are helpful if you are looking for interviews or other details from the time an event happened, or editorials or opinion-based analysis.
- Books, (also called monographs), are valuable for finding background information and in-depth subject coverage.
- Academic articles are essential for scholarly research and analysis.
Additional Library Resources
Here is an additional selection of general library resources to help you find articles for your research.
The Multi-Search
The Multi-Search is our primary search engine, which allows users to search multiple databases at the same time. Users can find scholarly articles, books, eBooks, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, book reviews, and more using the Multi-Search.
Here is a video tutorial on using the Multi-Search database from the homepage of the library.
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals, this database covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and more.
- ProQuest (ProQuest Central and Primary Source) This link opens in a new windowProQuest includes all ProQuest Central databases as well as many primary source databases. If you would like to access ProQuest Central only, you can do so at the following link: ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window.
