More Help with Books
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowOCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
Online Library Catalog
You can find books and eBooks by using the search box provided above to search the Online Library Catalog. The catalog is a list of all the print resources the library has (including print books, print journals, video games, audiobooks, and more) and also includes a record for most of our eBooks.
eBook Databases
The databases listed on this drop-down include eBooks (some also include other types of sources like articles).
Additional eBooks covering topics in the Cold War period of U.S. history can be searched for in the following eBook databases:
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of searchable high quality books in the Humanities
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
Browse for Print Books
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need. You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library. Below are some helpful call number ranges for history and related disciplines:
- D - History, Historiographies
- E - United States / America
- F - US States / Canada / Latin America