COM 530 - Law and Ethics
Multimedia Presentations
- Presentations & Handouts This link opens in a new window(Student Press Law Center) Everyone with internet access is a potential “publisher.” It’s crucial that everyone become more familiar with the legal and ethical issues that accompany gathering and distributing information, whether in print, over the airwaves, or online/digital/social platforms. These SPLC reference materials can be useful tools for self-study, or for teaching a class in journalism, media law, media literacy or civics.
Video Databases
Search for film content on law and ethics in the digital realm. Some searches to try:
- media ethics
- communication ethics
- journalism ethics law
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium has more than 50,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included is The Psychotherapy.net Collection which has 200 in-depth training videos from one of the counseling professions’ most respected video providers.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowFeature Films for Education offers hundreds of full-length feature films. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more. NOTE: This database does not work with Chrome. Please use an alternative browser (e.g. Firefox)..
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection, Psychology, History, Business, & Economics, Science, Health & Medicine, Art, Political Science, and more! Films on Demand includes world-class online educational videos from PBS, The History Channel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Social Sciences, Frontline, NOVA, National Geographic, and more.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming Video offers a broad catalog of over 26,000 films from 800 producers, including Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. Kanopy also offers a free search service where they will help source any films you would like in streaming that are not currently in their catalog - this service is completely free. If you are using Internet Explorer and experience issues with this database, please use another browser like Firefox or Chrome.
- SAGE Video This link opens in a new windowSAGE Video hosts streaming video collections created to support a range of levels, from reference content for research, to pedagogical content for undergraduate teaching, to higher- level academic interest material. Currently available collections include counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, education, media and communication, psychology, and sociology.
- TED: Ideas worth spreading This link opens in a new window"Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world"
