Finding & Using Videos in the Shapiro Library
Page Contents:
- Where can I find videos in the library databases?
- How do I search for videos in the Multi-Search?
- How do I use the video databases?
- How can I use videos from library databases in Brightspace or PowerPoint?
- How can I make a clip from a library database video to put into Brightspace, PowerPoint or a webpage?
- How can I be sure to quote something from a video correctly?
- How do I cite a video?
Where can I find videos in the library databases?
You can find videos in several databases. Click on the A-Z Database List in the Quick Links box on the Library Home Page. Then click on “All Database Types” in the center box above the alphabet. In the dropdown menu, select databases with video or image content. The most commonly used video databases are listed below.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium has more than 50,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included is The Psychotherapy.net Collection which has 200 in-depth training videos from one of the counseling professions’ most respected video providers.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection, Psychology, History, Business, & Economics, Science, Health & Medicine, Art, Political Science, and more! Films on Demand includes world-class online educational videos from PBS, The History Channel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Social Sciences, Frontline, NOVA, National Geographic, and more.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming Video offers a broad catalog of over 26,000 films from 800 producers, including Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. Kanopy also offers a free search service where they will help source any films you would like in streaming that are not currently in their catalog - this service is completely free. If you are using Internet Explorer and experience issues with this database, please use another browser like Firefox or Chrome.
- SAGE Video This link opens in a new windowSAGE Video hosts streaming video collections created to support a range of levels, from reference content for research, to pedagogical content for undergraduate teaching, to higher- level academic interest material. Currently available collections include counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, education, media and communication, psychology, and sociology.
How do I search for videos in the Multi-Search?
You can search for videos in the Multi-Search Advanced Search This link opens in a new window search:
- Go to Multi-Search by using the Multi-Search Advanced Search This link opens in a new window link or from the library homepage by clicking the search button without entering a search term.
- Click "Images & Video" in the blue menu bar in the top-left of the page
- Enter your search terms
- You can also filter your results by selecting options in the "Limit your results" section below the search box.
How do I use the video databases?
For the most part, the video databases operate like the other article & book databases. Specific directions are available via the Help feature in each database. Tutorials for the commonly used video databases are below:
Academic Video Online
Films on Demand
Kanopy
SAGE Video
- How to Use SAGE Video This link opens in a new windowIncludes Searching, Creating Clips, Sharing Videos & Clips.
How can I use videos from library databases in Brightspace or PowerPoint?
The best way to include videos or clips you create in Brightspace is to provide a link to the video or clip. Before selecting a video from the Kanopy or Swank database, review the information below about securing proper licenses. In most cases, you will copy a link from the video database and add the OpenAthens prefix by using the Link Generator available in the guide.
How to secure licensing for videos
How to link to videos
How can I be sure to quote something from a video correctly?
Most of the video databases provide a transcript of the video, which can be searched using keywords to locate appropriate content within the video. Additionally, the words being spoken in the video can be copy and pasted from the transcript to ensure accuracy.
Academic Video Online
Video Transcripts:
- Open the video.
- There will be a Menu Bar across the top of the screen.
- Locate the "Transcript" option and select it. The transcript will open to the right of the video.
Films on Demand
Video Transcripts:
- Open the video.
- Depending on the size of your screen, the transcript option will either be to the right of the video, or below it.
Kanopy
Video Transcripts:
- Open the video.
- There are options below the video that allow you to add the video to your list and share it. Click on "---More".
- A popup will appear with options including Transcript.
- The transcript will appear below the video (you might be prompted to play the video to load the transcript).
Sage Video
Video Transcripts:
- Open the video.
- Depending on the size of your screen, the transcript option will either be to the right of the video, or below it.
How do I cite a video?
Most of the Shapiro Library video databases offer a citation option on the page where the video is accessed. Shapiro Library Citing Your Sources guide (in the Quick Links box on the library home page) also offers examples in 3 formats.
Citing videos in APA
Citing videos in MLA
- MLA Style guideCiting: Film & YouTube
Citing videos in Chicago
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowVideo and Film Recordings This link opens in a new window (Notes and Bibliography)
Videos, podcasts, and other online multimedia This link opens in a new window (Notes and Bibliography)
Citing recordings and multi-media in author-date format This link opens in a new window (Author-Date)
Citing videos using RefWorks
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online bibliographic management system that allows users to create their own personal databases of references and format papers and bibliographies in a variety of styles, including APA and MLA. RefWorks is provided by Instructional Support to the SNHU community and can be accessed from any computer with an internet connection. PLEASE NOTE: Refworks is only available to SNHU students, faculty, and staff.
How To Change Citation Type In RefWorks This link opens in a new window in mySNHU OR see RefWorks YouTube Channel This link opens in a new window
