Grace Metalious
Grace Metalious is best known for writing the best selling book, "Peyton Place" which was the basis for TV and movie adaptations.
Works by Grace Metalious
Open the pdf below for a list of works by Grace Metalious that was compiled by the Center for the Book at the NH State Library.
Books by Grace Metalious Available at Shapiro Library (selected)
Peyton Place and Return to Peyton Place by Call Number: Main Collection: PS3525 .E77 P4 1999bISBN: 0517204770Publication Date: 1999
More information on searching books available from the Shapiro library is available at the Find Books & Ebooks FAQ.
Books About Grace Metalious (selected)
Dirty Whites and Dark Secrets by Call Number: Main Collection: PS3525.E77 P434 2011ISBN: 1611680417Publication Date: 2011- Inside Peyton Place byCall Number: Main Collection: PS3525.E77 Z89ISBN: 0385159501Publication Date: 1981-01-01
- The Girl from Peyton Place: a Biography of Grace Metalious byCall Number: Main Collection: PS3525 .E77 Z7Publication Date: 1965
Articles About Grace Metalious / Peyton Place (selected)
Creadick, A. G. (2009). The Erasure of Grace: Reconnecting Peyton Place to its Author. Mosaic : A Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Literature, 42(4), 165-180.
Gault, C. (2006). Grace Metalious' Peyton Place: Sentimental Storm-Trooper or Popular Throw-Back?. Journal of Popular Culture, 39(6), 958-1001.
Toth, E. (1981). Fatherless and Dispossessed: Grace Metalious as a French-Canadian Writer. Journal of Popular Culture, 15(3), 28.
Sorrell, R. S. (1982). Novelists and Ethnicity: Jack Kerouac and Grace Metalious as Franco-Americans. MELUS, 9 (1, Varieties of Ethnic Criticism), 37-52.
Stacey, S. A. (2006). Toxic Togetherness in a Postwar "Potboiler": Grace Metalious's Peyton Place. Americana : The Journal of American Popular Culture, 1900 to Present, 5(2).
Dissertations About Grace Metalious / Peyton Place (selected)
Brier, E. (2005). Advertisements for Themselves: The 1950s American Novel and the Production of Belief (Order No. 3159205). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text.
Chung, N. (2008). Picturing American Women: Popular Culture Images of Postwar Womanhood in the United States (Order No. 3313431). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text.
Creadick, A. G. (2002). Keeping up Appearances: "Normality" in Postwar United States Culture, 1945--1963 (Order No. 3068549). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text.
Hirsh-Dickinson, S. (2007). Dirty Whites and Dark Secrets: Sex and Race in "Peyton Place" (Order No. 3290102). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text.
Biographies (selected)
- The Girl from Peyton Place: a Biography of Grace Metalious byCall Number: Main Collection: PS3525 .E77 Z7Publication Date: 1965
DVD's Available at Shapiro Library
- Return to Peyton PlaceCall Number: DVD PN1997 .R46 2004Originally released as a motion picture in 1961.