Company Information
SWOT Analysis
A SWOT analysis is a strategic tool used by companies to provide an overview and understanding of the forces, trends, and characteristics of a particular market. The four criteria for a SWOT analysis are:
- Strengths
- Weaknesses
- Opportunities
- Threats
As a tool, the SWOT analysis evaluates the relationship between a company's internal resources (strengths and weaknesses) and external possibilities (opportunities and threats).
There are several library databases that provide access to SWOT analyses, and many more that you can use to find resources to develop your own. Recommended databases are listed below, and you can also check out this FAQ for more details:
SWOT and Gale Business: Insights Database
The following video explores a company profile in the Gale Business: Insights database (or, Business Insights: Global) and shows you how to use the information provided to research the four SWOT criteria.
Recommended Databases
-
Business Insights: Global - Gale This link opens in a new windowFor business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This database includes case studies. Watch this video overview of Business Insights: Global.
-
Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes news articles, peer-reviewed articles, case studies, country economic reports. It also includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, and interviews with executives and analysts.
-
MarketLine (Explorer) This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions. To access data click "Explorer" under Cross Industry Intelligence Center.
