Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Environmental Studies, Science, & Sustainability: Open Access Journals

Open Access Databases

The databases below are examples of searchable, open-access, repositories that can contain multiple types of information-- from peer-reviewed journal articles to government reports.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
A service that covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
SCIRP Open Access Journals
Scientific Research Publishing is one of the leading international publishers for Open Access journals devoted to various disciplines in science, technology and medicine. SCIRP Open access journals are freely available via the Internet for immediate worldwide open access to the full text of articles serving the best interests of the world scientific research community. Journals made available through SCIRP undergo the same peer-review and quality control process as other scholarly journals and are also organized by subject:
Earth and Environmental Science Journals
Earth and Environmental Science Journals from SCIRP Open Access Journals.
OpenScience Directory
Acts as a Open Access Journal meta search engine and provides access to 13,000 titles found in array of disciplines. A collaborative project between EBSCO and Hesselt University, their goal was to create a search tool for Open Access Journals that is searchable by keyword, subject, or via an A-Z title list of publications.
Bentham Science Open Access Plus
Publishes over 230 plus peer-reviewed open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
OMICS Online
The research articles in all journals published by OMICS Group are 'Open Access'. They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. A number of journals require an institutional or a personal subscription to view other content, such as reviews or paper reports. Free trial subscriptions to these journals are available.
arXiv.org
Open Access journal repository. Open access to 852,733 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
DASH
Open Access journal repository. "A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community."

Open Access Journals

The following are examples of open-access journals-- from peer-reviewed journal articles to government reports.

Earth's Future
American Geophysical Union open access journal.
Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems
American Geophysical Union open access journal.
Earth Interactions
American Geophysical Union & American Meteorological Society open access journal.
Open AIRE
Open Access is the immediate, online, free availability of research outputs without restrictions on use commonly imposed by publisher copyright agreements. Open Access includes the outputs that scholars normally give away for free for publication; it includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers and datasets of various kinds.
European GeoSciences Union: Open Access Peer-Reviewed Journals
European Geosciences Union open access journal journals
PLOS ONE
Journal of the Public Library of Science