First Year Seminar (FYS-101) Research Exercises

FYS Final Project Resources for each Collection Card

Collection 1: Homeland

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Dawes Severalty Act: https://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://heinonline.org/HOL/P?h=hein.statute/sal024&i=428
• Sara Winnemuca: https://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/portal/AAA000034225/BIC?u=nhc_main&sid=bookmark-BIC&xid=b43de640
• "Indian Land for Sale" sign: https://www.loc.gov/resource/rbpe.24002400/?st=gallery
• Homelessness Statistic: https://endhomelessness.org/resource/racial-inequalities-homelessness-numbers/

OTHER DATABASES & RESOURCES:

• Multi-Search: Suggested search phrases: 
  • “Native American*” AND homeless*
  • "Sarah Winnemuca" - Use her whole name in quotation marks
• Statista database: Suggested searches:
  • Homelessness
    • Estimated number of homeless people in the United States in 2020, by race
    • Homelessness in the United States dossier
• Dawes Act
  • Search HeinOnline database
  • Search Nexis Uni database but first select "Law Reviews" and change date range to 1887-present
  • Search Hathi Trust database
• "Indian Land for Sale" sign - Look at the names: Robert G. Valentine (Commissioner of Indian Affairs) and Walter L. Fisher (Secretary of the Interior) and look them up (Google - narrow to .gov sites perhaps? OR Multi-Search) to find land sales of Indian property during their tenures with the U.S. government.
• Articles/Reports
  • Report: Expert Panel on Homelessness among American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians (US Interagency Council on Homelessness) 2012
  • Northwestern Institute for Policy Research. (Feb 24, 2020). What Drives Native American Poverty? Sociologist Beth Redbird’s research points to job loss, not education, as a key driver.
  • Rafael Tapia, Jr. (Feb 19, 2020). The Importance of the 2020 Census for Native Americans. Partnership with Native Americans.
  • Tom Rodgers. (ND). Native American Poverty: A Challenge Too Often Ignored. Spotlight on Poverty and Opportunity
• Websites
  • The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
  • U.S. Census Data: Native Homelessness - Look at poverty statistics on reservations; Check the U.S. Census data by decade; Poverty Rates for the American Indian and Alaska Native Alone Population in the 20 Cities Most Populated by this Group, 2007-2011 Poverty Status in the Past 12 Months – 2019 American Community Survey (look at American Indian or Native Alaska Native alone, under Race and Hispanic or Latino Origin, and slide the bar at the bottom to “Percent below poverty level” to see 23.0%)
• Movies/Films
  • Songs My Brothers Taught Me (2015) Written and directed by Chloé Zhao, Songs My Brothers Taught Me showcases the harsh realities Native families face on the reservation. It follows the lives and relationship of two siblings living on Pine Ridge in South Dakota.
  • The Trail of Tears: Cherokee Legacy (2006). "The Trail of Tears Cherokee Legacy", narrated by James Earl Jones and featuring Wes Studi (who speaks his native Cherokee in the film, with English subtitles), explores one of America's darkest periods. After the Louisiana Territory was purchased in 1803, the US Government adopted a policy to move Indians west of the Mississippi to allow for white settlers to take over the eastern lands. President Andrew Jackson's Indian Removal Act of 1830 led to the forced removal of the Cherokee Nation from the Carolinas and Georgia to Oklahoma in 1838-1839. Nearly a quarter of the Cherokee Nation died during the Trail of Tears, arriving in Indian Territory with few elders and even fewer children.

Collection 2: First Families

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Family Planning Services & Population Research Act 
• Marie Sanchez (American Archive of Public Broadcasting – Interview with Marie Sanchez)
• Photo of Carlisle Boarding School Students
• Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women & Girls (2018), page 7

OTHER DATABASES & RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • Carlisle Indian School (See Research Starter Carlisle Indian School)
  • Family Planning Services & Population Research Act
    • HeinOnline Database - Family Planning Services & Population Research Act
    • Nexis Uni database: First select "Law Reviews" and change date range to 1970-present
    • Hathi Trust database
• Articles:
• Title X Family Planning Program (1970–1977). By Patsy Ciardullo, Nevada Wagoner. October 21, 2016. Nice summary/explanation/context
• Time Magazine article: A 1970 Law Led to the Mass Sterilization of Native American Women. That History Still Matters  (Library copy)
• Government Documents
  • Journal of Federal Law and Practice (Whole issue of this journal) January, 2021, Vol. 69, No. 1. Especially: André B. Rosay. National Survey Estimates of Violence Against American Indian and Alaska Native People. pp. 91-102.
  • Statistics around missing and murdered native women/children (See OJP.gov report: Violence Against American Indian and Alaska Native Women and the Criminal Justice Response: What is Known Charts starting on page 19
  • Violence Against American Indian and Alaska Native Women and the Criminal Justice Response: What is Known
• Movies/Films
  • “Wind River” (2017). Taylor Sheridan’s film was released around the same time Savanna Greywind went missing, which later sparked the creation of Savanna’s Act. The film is about a Native woman who is killed, and whose death is investigated by a federal agent who realizes very quickly the red tape that keeps many Native women’s cases from being solved. This movie is an excellent look into the movement and fear that surrounds MMIW (Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women).
• Books:
  • eBook: Say We Are Nations : Documents of Politics and Protest in Indigenous America Since 1887, by Daniel M. Cobb. (See: Chapter 38, pp. 176-179, written by Marie Sanchez) “Why Have You Not Recognized Us as Sovereign People Before?” (1977)
• Websites:
  • Native Women’s Wilderness. Murdered & Missing Indigenous Women. 2021,
    • Indigenous Women (girls +) murdered at a rate 10x higher than all other ethnicities.
    • Murder is the 3rd leading cause of death for Indigenous Women (Centers for Disease Control).
    • More than 4 out of 5 Indigenous Women have experienced violence (84.3%) (National Institute of Justice Report).
    • Murder rate of Indigenous Women is 3xs higher than Anglo-American women.
  • Urban Indian Health Institute. Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women & Girls. 2018,

Collection 3: Fair Play?

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Indian Citizenship Act of 1924: https://www.archives.gov/historical-docs/todays-doc/?dod-date=602
• Jim Thorpe: https://americanfootballdatabase.fandom.com/wiki/Jim_Thorpe?file=Jim_Thorpe.jpg
• Sac & Fox Lacrosse Sticks: https://americanindian.si.edu/collections-search/objects/NMAI_27203
• U.S. Athletic Team Mascots: https://www.mascotdb.com/lists/native-american-related-mascots

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases:
  • Biography in Context – Gale: Jim Thorpe
  • Multi-Search: lacrosse AND history; “Native American” AND mascots
  • HeinOnline Legal Databases:
    • Search: “Indian Citizenship Act of 1924”
    • Brian Kolva. (2012). Lacrosse Players, Not Terrorists: The Effects of the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative on Native American International Travel and Sovereignty. Washington University Journal of Law & Policy Vol. 40, pp. 307
• Books
  • eBook: Mascot Nation : The Controversy Over Native American Representations in Sports (2018) By Andrew C. Billings & Jason Edward Black

  • Print book (In Shapiro Library on 3rd floor shelves by Call No.): Native Athletes in Sport & Society (2005) Edited by C. Richard King. Call No: GV 709.55 .N38 2005 Chapter 11: "No Fall From Grace: Grace Thorpe's Athlete of the Century Campaign for Her Father" by John Bloom (pages 228-244)

• Web Article
  • Ka’nhehsí:io Deer. (July 24, 2020). Supporters challenge Iroquois Nationals' exclusion from 2022 World Games. CBC News.
  • Jenna West. (Sep 7, 2020). Ireland Lacrosse Withdraws from World Games, Gives Spot to Iroquois Nationals. 
• Movies/Films:
  • Indian Horse (2017) is a fictional film, but delivers a story that's all-too real: in the 1950s, a six-year-old Ojibwe boy is torn from his family and forced into a residential school, where he is forbidden to speak his language and faces brutal punishment for the tiniest transgressions.
  • Forrest Goodluck & Ajuawak Kapashesit talk 'Indian Horse' (YouTube)
  • Basketball or Nothing (2019) This Netflix docuseries follows the Chinle High School basketball team on the Navajo Nation in Arizona. Basketball is a huge sport in Indian Country, and I remember when this series first came out, how all my Navajo friends felt seen! Natives across most of the U.S. follow the basketball scene very closely, and this series specifically focuses on the Native side of the sport. (Summary by Corinne Rice)

Collection 4: Nativism & Exclusion

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882: https://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc_large_image.php?flash=false&doc=47
• A Statue for Our Harbor cartoon: https://digitallibrary.hsp.org/index.php/Detail/objects/11833
• Saum Song Bo: https://i1.wp.com/lawandborder.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Rush_Medical_College_class-e1503801124712.jpg?resize=300%2C235
• Anti-Asian Hate Crime in the U.S.: https://www-statista-com.ezproxy.snhu.edu/chart/24442/anti-asian-hate-crime/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• ***START HERE: New Library Research Guide: Stop Asian American & Pacific Islander Hate
• Databases:
  • Statista: Anti-Asian Hate Crime
  • CREDO: Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882
  • Multi-Search:
    • "Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882” ; See Research Starter (includes image of the actual document)
    • “Saum Song Bo” (only 2 results w/ quotes, both encyclopedias)
    • Anti-Asian
• Web Articles:
  • Kat Chow. (May 5, 2017). As Chinese Exclusion Act Turns 135, Experts Point To Parallels Today. NPR: Code Switch.

Collection 5: Domestic Labors

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Social Security Act of 1935: https://www.archives.gov/global-pages/larger-image.html?i=/historical-docs/doc-content/images/social-security-act-l.jpg&c=/historical-docs/doc-content/images/social-security-act.caption.html#page-header
• Nancy Green "Aunt Jemima" advertisement images:
  • https://aaregistry.org/story/nancy-green-the-original-aunt-jemima/
  • http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ouposas/aunt_jemima/0?institutionId=943
• Fanny Lou Hamer: http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/greymda/fannie_lou_hamer_s_testimony_at_the_democratic_national_convention_1964/0?institutionId=943
• Domestic Laborer Statistics by Race: https://www.epi.org/publication/domestic-workers-chartbook-a-comprehensive-look-at-the-demographics-wages-benefits-and-poverty-rates-of-the-professionals-who-care-for-our-family-members-and-clean-our-homes/#table3

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Library databases:
  • HeinOnline:
    • "Social Security Act of 1935"
  • Credo:
    • Fanny Lou Hamer
    • Social Security Act (1935)
  • Historical New York Times:
    • Overlooked No More: Nancy Green, the ‘Real Aunt Jemima’ Includes detail of old ad of Aunt Jemima from about the 1910s based on Nancy Green’s modeling.
  • Statista
    • Maids - Look at results list to find applicable data charts by race and gender. This search was already limited to the United States in the left hand margin of limiters (also called facets)
• Websites:
  • Economic Policy Institute (EPI) - Use search box, and try terms like "In-home labor"
  • National Domestic Workers Alliance

Collection 6: Condition of the Mother

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Virginia's Act XII: https://encyclopediavirginia.org/1448-130aa14e39d5a5a/
• Elizabeth Key: https://globalwomenshistory.com/2020/07/21/july-21-1656/
• Sally Hemings' room at Monticello:
  • https://www.monticello.org/sallyhemings/
  • https://www.pbs.org/newshour/arts/new-presidential-exhibits-slavery-takes-center-stage
• Sex Trafficking Statistics by Race: https://www.acf.hhs.gov/archive/blog/2015/04/bridging-minority-health-and-human-trafficking

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases:
  • Multi-Search:
    • “Elizabeth Key”

      Be careful to look closely at your results list because sometimes keyword searches can lead to sources other than what you intend.

      

    • Sally Heming AND Monticello (K:Use as example if you misspell your search term/name, Hemming, you won’t get results or get many fewer… databases won’t correct your spelling like Google suggestions do)
• CREDO
  • "Elizabeth Key" (In January 1655 Elizabeth Key, a woman born in 1630 to an unnamed African servant and an English father, Thomas Key, filed suit for her freedom on the ground that her father had been a free man. (He had also been a burgess.) The Northumberland County Court ruled in her favor in July 1656.)
  • Virginia's Act XII: Negro Women's Children to Serve according to the Condition of the Mother 1662
• Oxford Scholarship Online: partus sequitur ventrem
  • See eBook: Family Money: Property, Race, and Literature in the Nineteenth Century – Chapter 2: Blood, Truth, and Consequences
• Statista
  • Number of human trafficking hotline cases in the United States in 2019, by victim demographic (From National Human Trafficking Hotline – gender, adult/minor, US citizen/Foreign Nationals)
• Websites:
  • Zinn Education Project: July 21, 1656: Elizabeth Key Wins Her Freedom
  • National Human Trafficking Hotline
  • Polaris Project. (July 29, 2020). Racial Disparities, COVID-19, and Human Trafficking.
  • Polaris. “2019 Data Report: The U.S. National Human Trafficking Hotline.”December 31, 2019 https://humantraffickinghotline.org/sites/default/files/Polaris-2019-US-National-Human-Trafficking-Hotline-Data-Report.pdf
  • US Dept. of Justice Crime Victimization Survey: Violent Victimization by Race or Ethnicity, 2005-2019
  • Human Trafficking Search: Human Trafficking: Not All Black or White (2014)
  • Enactment of Hereditary Slavery Law Virginia 1662-ACT XII. National Park Service (NPS) Ethnography Program

Collection 7: Mistreatments

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Plessy vs. Ferguson: https://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/ourdocs/plessy.html
• Ophelia Settle Egypt: https://www.blackpast.org/african-american-history/egypt-ophelia-settle-1903-1981/
• Tuskegee Syphilis Experiment: https://www.rmpbs.org/blogs/rocky-mountain-pbs/distribution-of-covid19-vaccine-haunted-by-tuskegee-experiment/
  • https://nhpbs.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/finding-your-roots-510/tuskegee-study/
• Health Outcomes Statistics by Race: https://www.patientnavigatortraining.org/chronic_disease/module1/2_healthdisparityexamples.htm
  • https://www.kff.org/racial-equity-and-health-policy/press-release/a-review-of-multiple-analyses-documents-persistent-racial-disparities-in-covid-19/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases:
  • Hein Online
    • Plessy v. Ferguson
  • Biography – Gale in Context:
    • Ophelia Settle Egypt
  • Statista 
    • Racial and ethnic health disparities in the U.S. (This has individual charts with breakdowns for diseases, disabilities, cancer, sexual health, mental health, treatment, death and health risks)
  • Multi-Search
    • Tuskegee Syphilis Study  (Research Starter: Newspaper Breaks Story of Abuses in Tuskegee Syphilis Study)
• Websites:
  • Cdc.gov: The U.S. Public Health Service Syphilis Study at Tuskegee
  • National Archives: Tuskegee Syphilis Study
  • BlueCross/BlueShield: Racial Disparities in Maternal Health (2021)
  • Colorado Patient Navigator Training Collaborative. “Module 1: Health Disparities.” 2011.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Introduction to COVID-19 Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities.” Dec. 10, 2020

Collection 8: Drugs & Disparities

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Anti-Drug Abuse Act: https://www.congress.gov/99/statute/STATUTE-100/STATUTE-100-Pg3207.pdf
• Billie Holiday: https://www.carnegiehall.org/About/History/Carnegie-Hall-Icons/Billie-Holiday
• "Strange Fruit" poem: https://www.loc.gov/static/programs/national-recording-preservation-board/documents/StrangeFruit.pdf
• War on Drugs statistics by race: https://drugpolicy.org/resource/drug-war-mass-incarceration-and-race-englishspanish

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases:
  • Multi-Search:
    • “Strange Fruit” (poem) as a Subject Term (K: remember to show subject terms in Research Exercise)
    • HOLIDAY, Billie, 1915-1959 as a subject term (See Research Starter)
    •  Behind ‘Strange Fruit,’ Billie Holiday’s Anti-Lynching Anthem. New York Times.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints
    • Lynching
  • Biography - Gale in Context
    • Billie Holiday
  • CREDO
    • Billie Holiday  (See Mind Map)
• Books:
  • Billie Holiday: Anatomy of a Tragedy in Jazz Changes by Martin Williams
  • Handbook on the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986. (March 1987) U.S. Dept. of Justice.
• Web resources:
  • Liz Fields. (Apr 12 2021). Billie Holiday: The Long Night of Lady Day. The Story Behind Billie Holiday’s ‘Strange Fruit.’ PBS American Masters.
  • Strange Fruit: Anniversary of A Lynching (August 6, 2010). NPR – Radio Diaries
  • Semmi W. (Feb 25, 2021). The Story Behind “The United States vs. Billie Holiday.” Flood Magazine.

Collection 9: Black Prominence & Persecution

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Anti-Lynching Act: https://www.loc.gov/item/21026992/
• Ida B. Wells: https://wams.nyhistory.org/modernizing-america/fighting-for-social-reform/ida-b-wells/
• Article in Memphis Appeal: https://lynchingsitesmem.org/files/archives/attachments/MAA-3.10.1892-p.-5-The-Mobs-Work_0.jpg
• Business Ownership by Race and Gender: https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/09/01/businesses-owned-by-women-minorities-lag-in-revenue-share/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases:
  • Multi-Search:
    • "Jim Crow" laws (See Research Starter)
  • CREDO:
    • Ida B. Wells
    • Jim Crow Laws
  • Biography in Context – Gale:
    • Ida B. Wells-Barnett Especially overview article
  • ProQuest Primary Sources - Black Freedom Struggle in the United States:
• Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality - Jim Crow Era to the Great Depression (1878-1932):  Ida B. Wells-Barnett
• Black Studies Center – ProQuest database: Ida B. Wells
• Web Articles:
  • Matt Reynolds. (Feb 1, 2021). How Jim Crow-era laws still tear families from their homes. ABA Journal.
  • Damon Mitchell. (January 24, 2018). The People’s Grocery Lynching, Memphis, Tennessee. JStor Daily.
• Primary Sources
  • Lynch Law in Georgia by Ida B. Wells-Barnett
  • Ida B. Wells-Barnett (1895). The Red Record: Tabulated Statistics and Alleged Causes of Lynching in the United States. Project Gutenberg.
• Websites/Organizations
  • The People's Grocery... and Ida B. Wells. Historic-Memphis website.
  • University of Chicago Library exhibition: A Voice for Justice: The Life and Legacy of Ida B. Wells
  • The Tennessee Historical Society (Feb 4, 2021) - Ida B. Wells’ International Appeal: The 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition. (Includes primary sources)
  • Lynching Sites Project

Collection 10: Gated Communities

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• National Housing Act: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/299842
• Bill & Daisy Myers:
  • https://explorepahistory.com/displayimage.php?imgId=1-2-159C
  • https://ncrc.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/PHILLY_HOLC-2.jpg
• Redlining Map of Philadelphia: https://dsl.richmond.edu/panorama/redlining/#loc=5/37.8/-97.9&text=downloads
• Next City: Mapping Progress in 55 Philadelphia Neighborhoods: https://nextcity.org/features/view/philadelphia-neighborhoods-gentrification-mapping-growth

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • "National Housing Act of 1934"
    • Bill AND "Daisy Myers" (Only 2 results! A book and article about Daisy’s funeral) Instead search for Levittown AND rac*  (Remember from your Library Research Exercise 3 how to construct search phrases. That asterisk* tells the search engine to find all words beginning with those letters, so: race, racism, racist, etc.)
    • Rowan, Carl T. “Why Negroes Move to White Neighborhoods.” Ebony, vol. 13, no. 10, August 1, 1958, pp. 17-32.
    • Redlining (See Research Starter)
  • HeinOnline database
    • “National Housing Act”  Limit articles to Law Review Journals in the margin on the left side of results
• Government Documents:
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development - Major Legislation on Housing and Urban Development Enacted Since 1932
  • National Housing Act – Section titles
• Web Articles
  • The History Engine (U-Richmond) - Whites Riot in Response to Arrival of First African American Family in Levittown, PA
  • Jason Richardson & Bruce Mitchell. (November 14, 2018). New Federal Reserve Report Supports NCRC Redlining Study. National Community Reinvestment Coalition.
  • Andre M. Perry & David Harshbarger. (October 14, 2019). America’s formerly redlined neighborhoods have changed, and so must solutions to rectify them. Brookings Institute.
• Books
  • Dianne Harris. Second Suburb : Levittown, Pennsylvania. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2010. 
• Websites
  • Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America (U-Richmond, Virginia Tech, U-Maryland, Johns Hopkins collaborative project
  • Officer of the City Controller: Mapping the Legacy of Structural Racism in Philadelphia (January 23, 2020) – shows original redlined map of Philadelphia and overlay map of “Level of Disadvantage” today. Interactive map. Also shows number of homicides.

Collection 11: To Have and to Hold

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Coverture: http://library.law.virginia.edu/ajm-blog/2019/03/14/womens-legal-rights-in-uvas-first-law-library-baron-and-feme/
• Victoria Woodhull: https://ehistory.osu.edu/biographies/victoria-woodhull
• Mrs. Lanfear's Letters to Young Ladies...:https://play.google.com/books/reader?id=PrlYAAAAcAAJ&pg=GBS.PP10&hl=en
• Child Marriage Impacts on Girls: https://www.unchainedatlast.org/united-states-child-marriage-problem-study-findings-april-2021/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-search
    • Coverture
    • “Victoria Woodhull” (See Research Starter)
    • “child marriage” OR  “married girls”
    • “child marriage” OR “married girls” AND “United States”
    • Schuman, Rachel L. “State Regulations Are Failing Our Children: An Analysis of Child Marriage Laws in the United States.” William & Mary Law Review, vol. 60, no. 6, May 2019, pp. 2337–2374. 
  • HeinOnline
    • Coverture
  • Statista
    • “Child Marriage”
    • Infographic: Many countries allow child marriage. (US looks BAD!)
    • Infographic: America’s Youngest Child Brides & Grooms
• Web Articles
  • Catherine Allgor. (September 4, 2012). Coverture: The Word You Probably Don't Know but Should. National Women’s History Museum.
• Books
  • Unfpa. (2021). My Body is My Own: Claiming the Right to Autonomy and Self-Determination.
• Websites
  • Harvard Business School. Women, Enterprise & Society Women & the Law collection: Marriage and Coverture
  • American History USA: Coverture (list of resources)
  • Library of Congress Research Guides. American Women: Resources from the Law Library.(Forced and Child Marriage, pp. 36-37)
  • Equality Now. “Learn More: Child Marriage in the U.S.”
  • Frontline: Child Marriage in America - By the Numbers - http://apps.frontline.org/child-marriage-by-the-numbers/
  • Girls Not Brides - Interactive Resource - https://atlas.girlsnotbrides.org/map/united-states/
  • Council on Foreign Relations: "Child Marriage" - https://www.cfr.org/child-marriage/#!/

Collection 12: Abuse of Power

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Violence Against Women Act (VAWA):https://www.congress.gov/103/bills/hr1133/BILLS-103hr1133rfs.pdf
• Harriet Jacobs: http://www.harrietjacobs.org/
• Suffragette Marching Costume: https://www.loc.gov/resource/cph.3a21391/
• Domestic Violence Statistics by Race: https://www.domesticshelters.org/resources/statistics/demographics-and-domestic-violence

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • “Violence Against Women Act” (Includes Research Starter)
    • “Harriet Jacobs” (Includes Research Starter)
    • Suffragette OR Suffrage Movement OR Women’s suffrage
    • (Gender-based OR gender) AND violence (184,741 results… will require using limiters, and focus on a single variable)
  • HeinOnline
    • "Violence Against Women Act"
  • Statista
    • Gender violence United States
  • CREDO
    • Cook, Sarah L., and Tracy N. Hipp. "Violence Against Women Act." The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender, edited by Kevin Nadal, Sage Publications, 1st edition, 2017.
    • “Harriet Jacobs” (List of results; Includes Mind Map)
    • Woman Suffrage (List of results; Includes Mind Map)
• Web Articles
  • Office on Violence Against Women, Dept. of Justice. (June 2016). Twenty Years of the Violence Against Women Act: Dispatches from the Field
  • David A. Ford, Ronet Bachman, Monika Friend, & Michelle Meloy. (October 10, 2002). Controlling Violence Against Women: A Research Perspective on the 1994 VAWA’s Criminal Justice Impacts.
  • William L. Andrews. Harriet A. Jacobs (Harriet Ann), 1813-1897. University of North Carolina: Documenting the American South.
• Websites
  • PBS: Africans in America. Harriet Jacobs 1813-1897. See Runaway Notice- $100 Reward document.
  • http://www.harrietjacobs.org/

Collection 13: State Secrets

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Executive Order 10450: https://www.archives.gov/federal-register/codification/executive-order/10450.html
• Storme DeLarverie: https://media.gq.com/photos/5d1115248983d63f62654e6a/master/w_1280%2Cc_limit/2019-pride-Storme%2525CC%252581-DeLarverie-style-icon-gq-2.jpg
• Stonewall Inn: https://www.pbs.org/newshour/nation/what-stonewall-means-to-the-people-who-were-there
• States with Current Sodomy Laws
  • https://www.dailytarheel.com/multimedia/antisodomy
  • https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2011/04/map-has-your-state-banned-sodomy/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • Stormé DeLarverie
    • Stonewall riots (Includes Research Starter)
    • Sodomy AND law* AND “United States”
    • Executive Order 10450
    • “The ACLU Takes a Stand on Homosexuality.” Ladder, vol. 1, no. 6, Mar. 1957, pp. 8–9.
  • CREDO
    • "Delarverie, Stormé (1922 )." Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements, edited by Joanne Myers, Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1st edition, 2013.
    • Stonewall riots (List of results; Includes Mind Map)
    • Sodomy laws (List of results; Includes Mind Map)
    • Asal, Victor, and Udi Sommer. "Sodomy Laws." The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender, edited by Kevin Nadal, Sage Publications, 1st edition, 2017.
• Web Articles
  • Rachel Tashjian. (June 27, 2019). A Brief History of Stormé DeLarverie, Stonewall’s Suiting Icon. GQ.
  • Josh Barajas, Gretchen Frazee, Rebecca Oh, & Kira Wakeam. (June 26, 2019). What Stonewall means to the people who were there. PBS News Hour.

  • Pruitt, Sarah (June 1, 2020). What Happened at the Stonewall Riots? A Timeline of the 1969 Uprising: The June 1969 riots at New York City's Stonewall Inn marked a raucous turning point in the fight for LGBT rights. History.

• Websites
  • International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association: https://ilga.org/
  • Map: Sexual Orientation Laws in the World
  • State-Sponsored Homophobia 2020 Dataset (Download, Look at United States row)

Collection 14: Trans-gressions

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Religious Crimes Code of 1883: https://rclinton.files.wordpress.com/2007/11/code-of-indian-offenses.pdf
• Catlin's "Dance to the Berdache" painting: https://www.nga.gov/collection/art-object-page.50441.html
• Osh Tisch: https://cdn.kqed.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2018/11/OshTisch_TwoSpirits.jpg
• Public Perceptions of LGBTQIA+: http://aleph.humanities.ucla.edu/2015/07/26/countering-public-perceptions-of-religion-faith-communities-in-support-of-lgbt-equality/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • Berdash OR Berdache  Spelling varies, so use Boolean operator "OR" between the two different spelled words
    • Trexler, Richard C. “Making the American Berdache: Choice or Constraint?” Journal of Social History, vol. 35, no. 3, Spring 2002, p. 613. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1353/jsh.2002.0033.
    • Carolyn Epple. “Coming to Terms with Navajo ‘Nádleehí’: A Critique of ‘Berdache,’ ‘Gay,’ ‘Alternate Gender,’ and ‘Two-Spirit.’” American Ethnologist, vol. 25, no. 2, May 1998, pp. 267–290.
    • "George Catlin" (List of over 1730 results; Includes Research Starter)
    • (LGBT OR LGBTQIA) AND public perception
  • JStor
    • Irwin, Lee. “Freedom, Law, and Prophecy: A Brief History of Native American Religious Resistance.” American Indian Quarterly, vol. 21, no. 1, 1997, pp. 35–55. 
  • CREDO
    • Groot, Scott de. "Two-Spirit." Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History, edited by Howard Chiang, Gale, 1st edition, 2019.
  • Biography in Context – Gale
    • Roscoe, Will. "Osh-Tisch." Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America, edited by Marc Stein, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.
• Articles
  • Samuel White Swan-Perkins. (November 20, 2018). 5 Two-Spirit Heroes Who Paved the Way for Today's Native LGBTQ+ Community. KQED.
  • Sharita Gruberg, Lindsay Mahowald, John Halpin. (Oct 6, 2020). The State of the LGBTQ Community in 2020. Center for American Progress. (November 2014). National Trends in Public Opinion on LGBT Rights in the United States.
  • Maya Salam. (June 18, 2019). Americans’ Shifting Attitude on Gay Rights. New York Times: In Her Words.
• Websites
  • National Center for Transgender Equality - https://transequality.org/
  • Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) - https://www.glaad.org/
  • Pew Research Center articles/reports:
    • Public Sees Black People, Women, Gays and Lesbians Gaining Influence in Biden Era: Half of Americans say evangelical Christians will lose influence. (Feb 2, 2021)
    • Aidan Connaughton. (Sept 28, 2020). Religiously unaffiliated people more likely than those with a religion to lean left, accept homosexuality. (This is international in scope)
    • Nikki Graf. (Dec 18, 2019). About four-in-ten U.S. adults say forms should offer more than two gender options. (Includes map of US states that offer a third gender on drivers’ licenses)

Collection 15: Seats of Power

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): https://www.eeoc.gov/americans-disabilities-act-1990-original-text
• Judy Heumann: https://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/HDZHEA339565319/BIC?u=nhc_main&sid=bookmark-BIC&xid=defe2b30
• The Capitol Crawl: https://www.disabilitymuseum.org/dhm/lib/detail.html?id=493&print=1
• Unemployment Rates for People with Disabilities: https://www-statista-com.ezproxy.snhu.edu/statistics/1219046/us-unemployment-rate-disabled-persons/
• Employment Rate of Persons with a Disability by Race: https://www-statista-com.ezproxy.snhu.edu/statistics/1245158/us-employment-rate-disabled-persons-race/

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Biography in Context – Gale
    • Judy Heumann (10 news, 2 magazine articles in results list)
    • "Capitol Crawl"
  • Multi-Search
    • "Americans with Disabilities Act" OR ADA (Over 386,000 results; limiters required)
    • disabl* AND employment
    • disabl* AND education
    • “crip camp”
  • Statista
    • Dossier of Disability in the U.S. (Statista – 4 chapters of charts and statistics)
• Websites
  • ADA.gov
  • TED: Judy Heumann TED talk: Our fight for disability rights – and why we’re not done yet (March 2018).
  • Judy Heumann: Special Advisor for International Disability Rights (U.S. Dept. of State)
• Videos
  • Crip Camp: A Disability Revolution (On NetFlix; requires a subscription)

Collection 16: Debts of Service

Potential Resources:

SLIDE LINKS:

• The Veterans Bureau Act: https://www.finance.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/67HrgVetsBureau.pdf
• Judge Robert S. Marx: https://www.dav.org/learn-more/news/2020/judge-robert-s-marx/
• WWI Soldiers wearing prosthetic face masks: https://rarehistoricalphotos.com/anna-coleman-ladd-masks-1918
• Service Connected Injuries by Race: https://www.cnn.com/2020/06/13/politics/military-diversity-data/index.htm

OTHER DATABASES AND RESOURCES:

• Databases
  • Multi-Search
    • "Anna Coleman Ladd"
    • Veteran* AND disabilit* (Over 82,000 results; Use limiters)
    • "Combat Veteran*" AND disabilit*
  • Statista
    • disability and veterans – Comprehensive list of data charts on veterans and various types of disabilities, etc.
• Articles/Reports
  • U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs. (May 2021). History - Department of Veteran Affairs (VA)
  • Caroline Alexander. (February 2007). Faces of War. Smithsonian Magazine.
  • U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs – National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics. (May 2019). Statistical Trends: Veterans with a Service-Connected Disability, 1990 to 2018.
  • Tom Jenkins. (August 30, 2020). Judge Robert S. Marx: The Enduring Spirit of DAV. Disabled American Veterans organization.
• Books
  • Rosemary Stevens. (2016). A Time of Scandal: Charles R. Forbes, Warren G. Harding, and the making of the Veterans Bureau. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press. (In print in Shapiro Library. Call No: E785 .S74 2016)
• Websites
  • U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs See VA History Office
  • Combat Wounded Veteran Challenge. Veteran Facts page
  • Disabled American Veterans – dav.org