IHP 501 - Global Health & Diversity
This Library Research Guide will help you locate scholarly and non-scholarly resources for getting started with library research, nursing, healthcare & diversity, professional nursing associations, and major healthcare organizations.
Suggested Databases
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals
- CINAHL Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Further Reading
Building a High-Value Health System by
Countries and institutions worldwide face the challenge of planning and paying for health care that effectively meets the needs of citizens and employees. While there are many criticisms of existing healthcare models, current literature offers little guidance for individuals who want to carryout the work of redesigning and improving their health system.Using a step-by-step format, Building a High-Value Health System systematically provides analytical tools and functional skills for designing and implementing a health system that fits a population's needs. Active, learner-directed methods teach readers how to assess the needs of a population,analyze the performance of a health system, assess available capacity, and develop system design options that are feasible within this context. The book then describes the strategies through which change agents can implement and sustain these systems in the future.Through global case studies and detailed guidance, Building a High-Value Health System prepares readers to analyze and understand their own health system and take actions to build a better one.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9780197528549Publication Date: 2021-04-16
Global Health for All by
Global Health for All trains a critical lens on global health to share the stories that global health's practices and logics tell about 20th and 21st century configurations of science and power. An ethnography on multiple scales, the book focuses on global health's key epistemic and therapeutic practices like localization, measurement, triage, markets, technology, care, and regulation. Its roving approach traverses policy centers, sites of intervention, and innumerable spaces in between to consider what happens when globalized logics, circulations, and actors work to imagine, modify, and manage health. By resting in these in-between places, Global Health for All simultaneously examines global health as a coherent system and as a dynamic, unpredictable collection of modular parts.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781978827448Publication Date: 2022
Handbook of Global Urban Health by
Through interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspectives, and with an emphasis on exploring patterns as well as distinct and unique conditions across the globe, this collection examines advanced and cutting-edge theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of the health of urban populations. Despite the growing interest in global urban health, there are limited resources available that provide an extensive and advanced exploration into the health of urban populations in a transnational context. This volume offers a high-quality and comprehensive examination of global urban health issues by leading urban health scholars from around the world. The book brings together a multi-disciplinary perspective on urban health, with chapter contributions emphasizing disciplines in the social sciences, construction sciences and medical sciences. The co-editors of the collection come from a number of different disciplinary backgrounds that have been at the forefront of urban health research, including public health, epidemiology, geography, city planning and urban design. The book is intended to be a reference in global urban health for research libraries and faculty collections. It will also be appropriate as a text for university class adoption in upper-division under-graduate courses and above. The proposed volume is extensive and offers enough breadth and depth to enable it to be used for courses emphasizing a U.S., or wider Western perspective, as well as courses on urban health emphasizing a global context.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781315465449Publication Date: 2019
Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion by
The Second Edition of this forward-thinking text goes beyond the discussion of health disparities to highlight the importance of health equity. As the new title suggests, Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions helps the reader understand key social justice issues relevant to health disparities and/or health equity, taking the reader from the classroom to the real world to implement new solutions.Key Features:- Two new chapters: one on the impact of urban education on urban health (Ch 4) and another covering the elderly and health equity (Ch 10)- Updated and enhanced coverage on men's health, demographic data, the importance of cultural proficiency, maternal mortality and Black women, and much more.- Current trends and movements, including the role of social media in the provision of health care information for improved health literacy; mass incarceration and criminal justice reform; and new efforts toward resolving health disparities.- Case studies and problems that engage students in thinking about health disparities/equity and diversity issues and prompt them to consider possible solutions.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781284197792Publication Date: 2020
The Work of Hospitals by
In the context of neoliberalism and global austerity measures, health care institutions around the world confront numerous challenges in attempting to meet the needs of local populations. Examples from Africa (including, Ethiopia, Ghana, and Congo), Latin America (Peru, Mexico, Guatemala), Western Europe (France, Greece), and the United States illustrate how hospitals play a significant role in the social production of health and disease in the communities where they are. Many low-resource countries have experienced increasing privatization and dysfunction of public sector institutions such as hospitals, and growing withdrawal of funding for non-profit organizations. Underlying the chapters in The Work of Hospitals is a fundamental question: how do hospitals function lacking the medications, equipment and technologies, and personnel normally assumed to be necessary? This collection of ethnographies demonstrates how hospital administrators, clinicians, and other staff in hospitals around the world confront innumerable risks in their commitment to deliver health care, including civil unrest, widespread poverty, endemic and epidemic disease, and supply chain instability. Ultimately, The Work of Hospitals documents a vast gulf between the idealized mission of the hospital and the implementation of this mission in everyday practice. Hospitals thus become "contested space" between policy and practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781978823075Publication Date: 2022
