The book demonstrates to readers interested in social life in an understandable way how AI works and how it will dramatically change all areas of life. From the history of AI to its techniques and its diverse fields of application to its ethical-philosophical implications, all relevant aspects are presented in detail. The author does not remain descriptive, but also takes a critical stance on AI development in clear words. For the reader, the explanations are designed as a professional support corset, in order to be able to act as a knowledgeable counterpart to the AI experts. The last two chapters take the reader into the future of life with super AI. With daring scenarios, the author alerts the reader in an enjoyable way to the breathtaking and socially highly explosive perspectives associated with AI and the ethical and philosophical questions that arise from it. This book is a translation of the original German 1st edition Machtwechsel der Intelligenzen by Günter Cisek, published by Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH, part of Springer Nature in 2021. The translation was done with the help of artificial intelligence (machine translation by the service DeepL.com). A subsequent human revision was done primarily in terms of content, so that the book will read stylistically differently from a conventional translation. Springer Nature works continuously to further the development of tools for the production of books and on the related technologies to support the authors.

The rough and fuzzy set approaches presented here open up many new frontiers for continued research and development Computational Intelligence and Feature Selection provides readers with the background and fundamental ideas behind Feature Selection (FS), with an emphasis on techniques based on rough and fuzzy sets. For readers who are less familiar with the subject, the book begins with an introduction to fuzzy set theory and fuzzy-rough set theory. Building on this foundation, the book provides: A critical review of FS methods, with particular emphasis on their current limitations Program files implementing major algorithms, together with the necessary instructions and datasets, available on a related Web site Coverage of the background and fundamental ideas behind FS A systematic presentation of the leading methods reviewed in a consistent algorithmic framework Real-world applications with worked examples that illustrate the power and efficacy of the FS approaches covered An investigation of the associated areas of FS, including rule induction and clustering methods using hybridizations of fuzzy and rough set theories Computational Intelligence and Feature Selection is an ideal resource for advanced undergraduates, postgraduates, researchers, and professional engineers. However, its straightforward presentation of the underlying concepts makes the book meaningful to specialists and nonspecialists alike.

"What does AI mean for your business? Read this book to find out." -- Hal Varian, Chief Economist, Google Artificial intelligence does the seemingly impossible, magically bringing machines to life--driving cars, trading stocks, and teaching children. But facing the sea change that AI will bring can be paralyzing. How should companies set strategies, governments design policies, and people plan their lives for a world so different from what we know? In the face of such uncertainty, many analysts either cower in fear or predict an impossibly sunny future. But in Prediction Machines, three eminent economists recast the rise of AI as a drop in the cost of prediction. With this single, masterful stroke, they lift the curtain on the AI-is-magic hype and show how basic tools from economics provide clarity about the AI revolution and a basis for action by CEOs, managers, policy makers, investors, and entrepreneurs. When AI is framed as cheap prediction, its extraordinary potential becomes clear: Prediction is at the heart of making decisions under uncertainty. Our businesses and personal lives are riddled with such decisions. Prediction tools increase productivity--operating machines, handling documents, communicating with customers. Uncertainty constrains strategy. Better prediction creates opportunities for new business structures and strategies to compete. Penetrating, fun, and always insightful and practical, Prediction Machines follows its inescapable logic to explain how to navigate the changes on the horizon. The impact of AI will be profound, but the economic framework for understanding it is surprisingly simple.

Could a computer have a mind? What kind of machine would this be? Exactly what do we mean by ‘mind’ anyway? The notion of the ‘intelligent’ machine, whilst continuing to feature in numerous entertaining and frightening fictions, has also been the focus of a serious and dedicated research tradition. Reflecting on these fictions, and on the research tradition that pursues ‘Artificial Intelligence’, raises a number of vexing philosophical issues. Minds and Computers introduces readers to these issues by offering an engaging, coherent, and highly approachable interdisciplinary introduction to the Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence.

'if AI is outside your field, or you know something of the subject and would like to know more then Artificial Intelligence: The Basics is a brilliant primer.'nbsp; - Nick Smith, Engineering and Technology Magazine November 2011 Artificial Intelligence: The Basics is a concise and cutting-edge introduction to the fast moving world of AI. The author Kevin Warwick, a pioneer in the field, examines issues of what it means to be man or machine and looks at advances in robotics which have blurred the boundaries. Topics covered include: how intelligence can be defined whether machines can 'think' sensory input in machine systems the nature of consciousness the controversial culturing of human neurons. Exploring issues at the heart of the subject, this book is suitable for anyone interested in AI, and provides an illuminating and accessible introduction to this fascinating subject.

Artificial Intelligence Tools: Decision Support Systems in Condition Monitoring and Diagnosis discusses various white- and black-box approaches to fault diagnosis in condition monitoring (CM). This indispensable resource:Addresses nearest-neighbor-based, clustering-based, statistical, and information theory-based techniquesConsiders the merits of e

This new edition provides a comprehensive, colorful, up-to-date, and accessible presentation of AI without sacrificing theoretical foundations. It includes numerous examples, applications, full color images, and human interest boxes to enhance student interest. New chapters on robotics and machine learning are now included. Advanced topics cover neural nets, genetic algorithms, natural language processing, planning, and complex board games. A companion DVD is provided with resources, applications, and figures from the book. Numerous instructors' resources are available upon adoption. eBook Customers:Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com. FEATURES: * Includes new chapters on robotics and machine learning and new sections on speech understanding and metaphor in NLP * Provides a comprehensive, colorful, up to date, and accessible presentation of AI without sacrificing theoretical foundations * Uses numerous examples, applications, full color images, and human interest boxes to enhance student interest * Introduces important AI concepts e.g., robotics, use in video games, neural nets, machine learning, and more thorough practical applications * Features over 300 figures and color images with worked problems detailing AI methods and solutions to selected exercises * Includes DVD with resources, simulations, and figures from the book * Provides numerous instructors' resources, including: solutions to exercises, Microsoft PP slides, etc.

This Third Edition provides the latest tools and techniques that enable computers to learn The Third Edition of this internationally acclaimed publication provides the latest theory and techniques for using simulated evolution to achieve machine intelligence. As a leading advocate for evolutionary computation, the author has successfully challenged the traditional notion of artificial intelligence, which essentially programs human knowledge fact by fact, but does not have the capacity to learn or adapt as evolutionary computation does. Readers gain an understanding of the history of evolutionary computation, which provides a foundation for the author's thorough presentation of the latest theories shaping current research. Balancing theory with practice, the author provides readers with the skills they need to apply evolutionary algorithms that can solve many of today's intransigent problems by adapting to new challenges and learning from experience. Several examples are provided that demonstrate how these evolutionary algorithms learn to solve problems. In particular, the author provides a detailed example of how an algorithm is used to evolve strategies for playing chess and checkers. As readers progress through the publication, they gain an increasing appreciation and understanding of the relationship between learning and intelligence. Readers familiar with the previous editions will discover much new and revised material that brings the publication thoroughly up to date with the latest research, including the latest theories and empirical properties of evolutionary computation. The Third Edition also features new knowledge-building aids. Readers will find a host of new and revised examples. New questions at the end of each chapter enable readers to test their knowledge. Intriguing assignments that prepare readers to manage challenges in industry and research have been added to the end of each chapter as well. This is a must-have reference for professionals in computer and electrical engineering; it provides them with the very latest techniques and applications in machine intelligence. With its question sets and assignments, the publication is also recommended as a graduate-level textbook.

The result of the author's extensive practical experience: a decade in computer process control using large scale systems, another decade in machine pattern-recognition for vision systems, and nearly a decade dealing with artificial intelligence and expert systems. These real-life projects have taught Vámos a critical appreciation of, and respect for, both abstract theory and the practical methodology that grows out of--and, in turn, shapes--those theories.Machine representation means a level of formalization that can be expressed by the instruments of mathematics, whereas programming is not more and not less than a special linguistic translation of these mathematical formulae. How these all are related and controlled is a most practical philosophical and computation professional task. Wide experience in the practical fields of computer science, and the research of the underlying theoretical issues have led Vámos to the development of the attitude and activity of constructive skepticism.