Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Psychology Research Guide

This guide is designed to help SNHU users finding research on psychology related topics.

I/O Industrial or Organizational Psychology


I/O, Industrial, Organizational or Industrial-Organizational Psychology is the scientific study of human behavior in organizations and work situations. I/O Psychologists study individual, group, and organizational behavior and use this knowledge to improve workplace problems. Before you explore the database below to find evidence for your project, you may find it helpful to learn more about this area of psychology. The following resources can help you narrow your topic, learn about the language used to describe psychology topics, and get you up to speed on the major advancements in this field.

I/O Psychology Databases


Research in I/O psychology utilizes core psychology resources, as well as resources in business, human resources, and sociology. You may find it helpful to search the following databases for your I/o topics or research questions, in addition to the core resources listed on the home page.

I/O Psychology Subject Headings


You may find it helpful to take advantage of predefined subjects or subject headings in Shapiro Databases. These subjects are applied to articles and books by expert catalogers to help you find materials on your topic.

Consider using databases to perform subject searches, or incorporating words from applicable subjects into your keyword searches. Here are some I/O subjects to consider:

  • Industrial & Organizational Psychology
  • Management & Management Training
  • Occupational Interests & Guidance
  • Organizational Behavior
  • Personnel Attitudes & Job Satisfaction
  • Personnel Evaluation & Job Performance
  • Personnel Management & Selection & Training
  • Professional Education & Training
  • Working Conditions & Industrial Safety

I/O Example Search


Not sure what you want to research exactly, but want to get a feel for the resources available? Try the following search in any of the databases listed above:


(Industrial OR Organizational OR I/O) AND Psych*


There isn't just one accepted word for this area of psychology, so we use OR boolean operators to tell the database any of the listed terms are relevant to our search. We use parenthesis to organize our search, and we stem or truncate the word psychology with the asterisk to tell the database that any ending of the word, as long as the letters psych are at the beginning of the word, will do. This way, the word psychological and other related terms will also be included.

I/O Psychology Organization Websites