HUM 200 - Applied Humanities

Database of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies.

We have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.

Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.

Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. It covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.

The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Encyclopedia with articles on visual arts from prehistory to the present day

Oxford Classical Dictionary contains 6,000 full-text online articles from the print 4th edition as well as newly commissioned and updated entries. It is the first place to turn for clear, authoritative information on all aspects of ancient culture.

Oxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.

An accessible and intuitive online platform, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism. Includes over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images.

Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Oxford's Very Short Introductions eBook series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History.

Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.

Over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.

Large, extensive compilation of literary commentary. SNHU subscribes to: Contemporary Literary Criticism, 1960 - present; Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, 1900-1960; Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism; Shakespeare Criticism; and Poetry Criticism.