Sources for Health Data
Open Data Websites
- FastStats (CDC) This link opens in a new windowProvides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new windowCollects clinical information, research findings, funding opportunities, data and surveys, data on specific populations, consumers & patients, and on patient safety.
- HealthData.gov This link opens in a new windowU.S. Department of Health and Human Services, HHS site that makes data from HHS agencies, including CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, easily available and accessible to the public and innovators.
- Kaiser Family Foundation This link opens in a new windowA non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major healthcare issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health.
- ICPSR - Health and Medical Care Archive This link opens in a new windowData archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
SNHU Databases with Health Data
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
- SAGE Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 18.9 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations.
- Statistical Insight - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Insight Collection spans millions of full-text reports and more than 1 million published tables on thousands of different topics. It provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
Videos for Statistical Calculations
- Student's t-test This link opens in a new windowBozeman Science video explaining the theory and application of a t-test.
- P-values and significance tests This link opens in a new windowKhan Academy video on the basics of determining statistical significance.
- Correlation & Regression This link opens in a new windowLearn & Apply video detailing relationships between variables.
Mathematics Statistics and Analysis Calculators
- Sample Size Calculator This link opens in a new windowYou can use this free sample size calculator to determine the sample size of a given survey per the sample proportion, margin of error, and required confidence level.
Data Visualization
- SAGE Research Methods - Data Visualization This link opens in a new windowFind resources on the fundamentals to create effective data visualizations