NUR 631 - Strategic Skills for Nurse Executive Leaders
Leadership & Human Resources
Essentials of Healthcare Management by Leigh W. Cellucci; Michael R. Meacham; Tracy J. Farnsworth This link opens in a new windowHealthcare managers are tasked with ensuring an organization's mission is carried out, its goals are achieved, and its work is of high quality. Essentials of Healthcare Management: Cases, Concepts, and Skills provides a solid foundation for developing the skills managers need to help move their organization forward. This introductory book is for those preparing for entry- or midlevel healthcare management jobs. Aligned with the competency categorization developed by the Healthcare Leadership Alliance, it provides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing. The book is rich with compelling case studies depicting true events and situations. Every chapter opens with a case study to promote experiential learning and to anchor the chapter's subsequent coverage of theories and concepts. Examples include "Resisting Change," "Strange Behavior," "The Ethics Committee," and "A Longer Than Necessary Hospitalization." Wrapping up every chapter, mini-case studies such as "MedMan and Its Cultural Climate," "What Do We Do About Joe?," and "Developing the Budget for the Dialysis Center" give students the opportunity to apply the theories and concepts covered. Each major part of the book is introduced with a longer case study that instructors can use to highlight the significance of the material addressed in the part's chapters. End-of-chapter questions and exercises are equally well suited for in-class discussion or team assignments. Originally published as Essential Techniques for Healthcare Managers, this book has been extensively revised. All chapters have been significantly rewritten and updated. Particularly notable are enhancements to the coverage of strategy and marketing, operations, quality, and health information technology. The following chapters are entirely new and provide context and background for the subsequent chapters that address interpersonal and business skills: A Brief History of the Development of Healthcare in AmericaHealth Policy: Cost, Quality, and AccessThe Healthcare System TodayMedical and Healthcare Environments Blending theory and practical applications, Essentials of Healthcare Management equips future leaders with the skills, knowledge, and confidence they need to be successful healthcare managers.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Organizational Behavior and Theory in Healthcare by Stephen Lee Walston; Association of University Programs in Health Administration Staff (Contribution by) This link opens in a new windowIn the dynamic and demanding field of healthcare, managers face a unique set of challenges. They lead complex organizations characterized by ever-changing relationships and reporting structures. They interact daily with personnel representing multiple specialties and different professional cultures. To be successful, healthcare leaders must be able to manage these complicated relationships. This book explores theories of organizational design, leadership, and management and the social psychology of organizations as they apply to healthcare. The author, drawing on years of experience as a hospital CEO, uses real-world scenarios to illustrate the management practices that enhance organizational effectiveness and efficiency. Through chapter cases, activities, and questions that reinforce essential concepts, readers will gain an understanding of not only theory but also how the interrelationships of people, organizations, and structures drive the success of a healthcare organization. Organizational Behavior and Theory in Healthcare provides in-depth coverage of the following concepts and more: Theories of managing people Individual and organizational ethics and values Emotions and stress on the job Attitudes and perceptions Power and influence Leadership styles and their application Organizational culture Decision making and problem solving Group dynamics and teams Managing diversity Conflict management and negotiation Organizational design Strategy and change management The comprehensive content is divided into 20 chapters, each dedicated to a specific topic, allowing instructors to adapt the book easily to their course. A listing of healthcare administration competencies by chapter assists instructors in creating a competency-based curriculum.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Innovating Healthcare by John Storey; Richard Holti This link opens in a new windowWhy is there a need to 'innovate healthcare'? The basic reason stems from the sheer scale of the challenges now facing healthcare provision in the UK and across many other countries. The aim of this book is to interrogate past and current attempts to innovate in this arena and to draw-out the key lessons. Innovating Healthcare: The Role of Political, Managerial and Clinical Leadership presents the latest state of knowledge based on original data from a series of NIHR-funded research projects set in the context of a review of extensive secondary research. The book draws upon first-person verbatim accounts of change attempts made by doctors and other clinicians as well as upon research findings about the roles played by policy-makers and managers. The analysis draws upon theory and practice in leadership, innovation and institution-building. The mutually-reinforcing contributions of political, managerial and clinical leadership are at the core of the investigative narrative. This book will be of interest to students and researchers, clinicians and managers in the health and care sectors as well as policy-makers. While the focus in on healthcare, the book has wider relevance for students of management, leadership, innovation and organizational studies.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
Healthcare Financial Management
Gapenski's Understanding Healthcare Financial Management by George H. Pink; Paula H. Song This link opens in a new windowLeaders are best positioned for strategically powerful decisions when they approach challenges with a firm grasp of the most pertinent tools of finance. Rich with examples, both real and fictional, this book makes the practical application of abstract concepts comprehensible. This edition has been updated to reflect the December 2017 federal tax bill. Gapenski's Understanding Healthcare Financial Management offers a practical introduction to the useful concepts that every healthcare decision-maker needs to know, giving leaders a real advantage as they face some of the most consequential choices of their careers.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-12-27
Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders, Third Edition by Susan J. Penner This link opens in a new windowWritten by and for nurses, this key foundational text helps to build the fundamental economics and financial management skills nurses and nurse leaders need for daily use. This third edition delivers several new features, adding to its value as the only timely and relevant text written for the full spectrum of RN-to-BSN, BSN, and MSN students. It has been significantly revised to simplify content, to address the vast changes in and increasing complexity of U.S. health care financing, and to be useful in both traditional in-class format and hybrid and online programs. Two new and refocused chapters address assessing financial health and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management, and new material illuminates recent research findings and statistics. Chapters feature worksheets such as business plan checklists and text boxes expanding on key chapter content. The book is distinguished by its provision of case examples based on nurse-run clinic and inpatient nursing unit financial issues. It provides multiple opportunities for experiential learning, such as writing business plans and health program grant proposals. It delivers cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses, discusses budget preparation, offers strategies for controlling budget costs, and updates relevant health policies and statistics. The text's engaging format promotes the synthesis of economics and finance across the nursing curriculum through the use of end-of-chapter exercises, discussion questions, and games based on concepts within the text. Additionally, tips throughout the book alert students about the need to apply concepts from other aspects of their education to economic and financial situations. Also included are online supplemental materials for teachers and students, including Excel spreadsheets, grant proposals, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. New to the Third Edition: Updates health reform, health care spending, and other relevant policies and statistics Includes two new and refocused chapters that address assessing the financial health of a business and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management Highlights recent research findings and key concepts in text boxes Provides blank and completed worksheets, such as business plan checklists, so nurses can apply financial concepts in their clinical settings Fosters understanding of key concepts with enhanced explanations and samples of business plans and other reports Key Features: Aligned with AACN and AONE guidelines, the CNL certification exam, and QSEN competencies Serves as a primary financial management text for multiple nursing academic programs Facilitates experiential learning through end-of-chapter exercises, games, tips for synthesizing knowledge, worksheets, and case examples Designed for use in traditional classrooms and in hybrid and online learning programs Includes a chapter on measuring nursing care with indicators for capacity, staffing, patient acuity, performance, and patient flow NEW a FREE Q&A App is availabel (see inside front cover)
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2016-08-28
Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations by Michael Nowicki This link opens in a new windowFinancial management challenges are not confined to the CFO's office. Any manager in today's increasingly complex healthcare environment must have a solid grasp of finance fundamentals, and this book provides them. In straightforward language aimed at students and managers outside of finance, Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations covers a full range of topics. The first four sections--Financial Management, Operating Revenue, Working Capital, and Resource Allocation--start with core financial concepts, then delve into issues unique to the healthcare setting. Highlights include the tax status of healthcare organizations, third-party payers and payment methodologies, cost accounting and analysis, rate setting, strategic financial planning, and capital budgeting. A final section on healthcare reform analyzes important trends that will affect healthcare organizations in the future. New to this edition: The latest information on health reform, including the Affordable Care Act of 2010 and the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 A new section on the Trump administration's plans for healthcare, including possible scenarios for the ACA Updates on financial accounting standards, economic trends, and tax-exempt hospitals Expanded content on Medicare and Medicaid (now separated into distinct chapters), including legislative and regulatory updates and federal fraud and abuse initiatives Significant new information on healthcare quality, access, and cost Readers of this book will not only learn the fundamentals of financial management but also gain experience in applying them. Mini-cases, practice problems, and self-quizzes throughout reinforce essential concepts, and a comprehensive case at the end brings the concepts to life.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Value Management in Healthcare by Nathan William Tierney This link opens in a new window"Nathan Tierney's powerful storytelling is rarely seen in today's health care business environment. We must redesign the health care delivery system---a team sport in service of patients, hold it accountable with measurement to improve outcomes, and quantify the resource costs over the full cycle of care. Value-based health care is a framework through which these goals are achieved, and Tierney provides a detailed playbook to get your organization there. Outlined in incredible detail and clarity, he presents core concepts and dives into the key metrics needed to build, maintain, and scale a successful value-based health care organization. Nathan shares a realistic vision of what any CEO should expect when developing their own Value Management Office. Nothing is more important to me than improving the lives of those I love. My personal mission is to create systemic change with an impact on the global stage. This playbook needs to be on the desk of every executive, clinician, and patient today." 　 -Mahek Shah, MD, Senior Researcher and Senior Project Leader, Harvard Business School Our current healthcare system's broken. The Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) predicts health care costs could increase from 6% to 14% of GDP by 2060. The cause of this increase is due to (1) a global aging population, (2) growing affluence, (3) rise in chronic diseases, and (4) better-informed patients; all of which raises the demand for healthcare. In 2006, Michael Porter and Elizabeth Teisberg authored the book 'Redefining Health Care: Creating Value-Based Competition on Results.' In it, they present their analysis of the root causes plaguing the health care industry and make the case for why providers, suppliers, consumers, and employers should move towards a patient-centric approach that optimizes value for patients. According to Porter, "value for patients should be the overarching principle for our broken system." Since 2006, Professor Porter, accompanied by his esteemed Harvard colleague, Profesor Robert Kaplan, have worked tirelessly to promote this new approach and pilot it with leading healthcare delivery organizations like Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, MD Anderson, and U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs. Given the current state of global healthcare, there is urgency to achieve widespread adoption of this new approach. The intent of this book is to equip all healthcare delivery organizations with a guide for putting the value-based concept into practice. This book defines the practice of value-based health care as Value Management. The book explores Profesor Porter's Value Equation (Value = Outcomes/ Cost), which is central to Value Management, and provides a step-by-step process for how to calculate the components of this equation. On the outcomes side, the book presents the Value Realization Framework, which translates organizational mission and strategy into a comprehensive set of performance measures and contextualizes the measures for healthcare delivery. The Value Realization Framework is based on Professor Kaplan's ground-breaking Balanced Scorecard approach, but specific to healthcare organizations. On the costs side, the book details the Harvard endorsed time-driven activity based costing (TDABC) methodology, which has proven to be a modern catalyst for defining HDO costs. Finally, this book covers the need and a plan to establish a Value Management Office to lead the delivery transformation and govern operations. This book is designed in a format where any organization can read it and acquire the fundamentals and methodologies of Value Management. It is intended for healthcare delivery organizations in need of learning the specifics of achieving the implementation of value-based healthcare.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2017-10-11
Management of Healthcare Organizations by Peter C. Olden This link opens in a new windowManagement problems are complex and rarely fixed with a single, universal solution. Particularly in healthcare organizations, management is fluid, and the "right" approach depends on a variety of ever-changing factors. Management of Healthcare Organizations: An Introduction provides an integrated, practical approach to management that is applicable to all kinds of healthcare organizations. The book prepares future managers and leaders to assess situations and develop solutions with confidence. Author Peter C. Olden combines extensive real-world management experience with academic expertise to explain fundamental management theories, concepts, methods, and tools and how to apply them in healthcare organizations. Adopting a student-centered approach, he uses a fresh, engaging style and clear organization of content supported by many exhibits, sidebars, and an appealing design. Although primarily intended for undergraduate students interested in managing healthcare organizations, this book is also a valuable resource for allied health majors and practicing healthcare managers. This edition has been updated extensively with three new case studies; current examples, exercises, and data; and new or expanded information on these and other topics: Population health and the continuum of careStrategic planningHorizontal process organizingDiversity and inclusionObtaining and retaining staffLeading and motivating peoplePerformance improvement, Six Sigma, and LeanOrganizational change management methodsProfessionalism and emotional intelligenceEach chapter begins with learning objectives and a real-world example based on an extended, contemporary case study that runs through the book and connects all the chapters. The book also features an end-of-chapter mini case study and seven integrative case studies. These cases enable students to use concepts and methods from multiple chapters to fully resolve a given management problem, reinforcing the chapters' concepts. Chapter summaries and discussion questions offer additional learning opportunities. The writing style and activities help students learn management as an integrated body of knowledge and tools they can use in their careers. Whether you are new to healthcare management or are looking to advance your career, Management of Healthcare Organizations teaches the fundamental principles and skills needed to successfully manage a healthcare organization.
Call Number: Online Library
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Strategic Healthcare Management by Stephen Lee Walston This link opens in a new windowA healthcare organization's mission should direct its strategies. Successful leaders make good decisions that advance their organization's ability to achieve its mission--and thereby gain a strategic mission advantage--even in the face of uncertainty. This book explores in depth the development and implementation of strategy to achieve mission advantage. It provides both the theoretical concepts and the practical tools leaders need to make better strategic decisions. Its cases and examples show how strategic principles can be applied to the intricacies of the contemporary healthcare system, always tying back to the key stakeholders, values, mission, and vision that underpin healthcare organizations and their purpose. A notable feature of this edition is its emphasis on learning through topical and timely case studies that depict strategic challenges healthcare leaders commonly face. These challenges range from issues of capitation, the formation of accountable care relationships, and competitive positioning to the dissolution of alliances and vertical integration, among others. Along with the necessary concepts and practical means for understanding, implementing, and monitoring strategies, this book also provides financial tools for directing strategic decisions and methods for analyzing healthcare markets. Noteworthy topics include the following and more: The shift to value-based care and reimbursement modelsThe continued evolution of healthcare reform and its effect on healthcare market structure Hospital and healthcare business models and how they are changingDisruptive innovation in healthcareThe impact of increasing consolidation of the insurance and provider sectorsThe advantages and challenges of alliances and partnerships, both domestic and internationalHealthcare stakeholders and their engagementAccountability in healthcare strategic plan executionGiven the rapid and seemingly constant change in healthcare, skillful strategic planning and its implementation are more essential than ever to achieving organizational success. This book gives readers the background they need to make decisions that promote their organization's success and mission.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Healthcare Operations Management by Daniel B. McLaughlin; John R. Olson This link opens in a new windowThe answers to many of the dilemmas faced by the US healthcare system, such as increasing costs, inadequate access, and uneven quality, lie in organizational operations - the nuts and bolts of healthcare delivery. Leading healthcare organizations have begun to employ the programs, techniques, and tools of operations improvement that industries outside of healthcare have successfully used for decades. Healthcare Operations Management aims to help healthcare management students and working professionals find ways to improve the delivery of healthcare, with its complex web of patients, providers, reimbursement systems, physician relations, workforce challenges, and intensive government regulation. Taking an integrated approach, the book puts the tools and techniques of operations improvement into the context of healthcare so that readers learn how to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of tomorrow's healthcare system. Thoroughly revised and updated, this edition includes: A new chapter on big data and analytics for fact-based decision making More Excel examples to demonstrate the use of this prime analytics tool New case studies and exercises Expanded information on innovation and new approaches to care delivery With its plentiful examples, guidelines to software tools, and emphasis on contemporary healthcare management issues, this book provides current and future healthcare professionals alike with a broad foundation for implementing operational improvements in their organizations.