Education

Most Useful For

• Searching many sources at once and saving time by "casting a wide net" instead of searching individual databases one at a time
• Searching for a lot of different material types at once (such as eBooks, scholarly articles, newspapers, streaming video, etc.)

Cautions

• Can be overwhelming, and searches that are not specific enough may bring back too many results
• Does not search ALL library databases and electronic resources! You may miss some good sources if you only use the Multi-Search

Our Recommendation

Consider using the Multi-Search primarily when you

1. Are having trouble finding information on your topic
2. Are not sure where to start looking for information on your topic
3. Have a fairly specific topic in mind
4. Are interested in finding a wide variety of source types.

A-Z Database List

The A-Z Database List allows you to find and search individual library databases. You can view all the databases alphabetically, search for a database by title, or use the three drop-down menus at the top of the A-Z Database List to search for databases by subject, type, or vendor.

Most Useful For

• Searching for resources within individual databases such as EBSCOhost, Project Muse, JSTOR, etc.
• Determining which databases would be best for your research depending on the subject you are researching, the types of sources you need, or the vendor who provides the database

Cautions

• Requires you to search in each database individually to find sources, which can be time consuming
• Requires you to determine which database would be most appropriate for your research (if you are unsure which database to use, you can reach out to the library through the 24/7 chat or emailing ask@snhu.libanswers.com).

Our Recommendation

Consider using the A - Z Database List primarily when you

• Want to save time by searching in subject-specific, source type-specific, or vendor-specific database for sources
• Have been given a recommended database to use by a professor or librarian
• Have either a fairly specific topic or a broad topic in mind
• Are interested in finding a wide variety of source types.

Publication Finder

The Publication Finder allows you to search for an individual journal by title or ISSN number. You can also browse journals by title or by subject. The Publication Finder shows you if we have access to a journal and if so, what database holds the journal and what time span our access includes.

Most Useful For

• Searching for individual journals by title, ISSN, or browsing journals by title or subject
• Determining where to access a specific journal and how much access we have to a specific journal

Cautions

• Does not allow you to search within multiple journals at once (like a database does), rather to search for, access, and use individual journals (such as The Harvard Business Review)

Our Recommendation

Consider using the Publication Finder primarily when you:

• Have a specific journal in mind that you would like use
• Want to know if we have access to a specific journal
• Want to know if there are multiple access points for a journal
• Want to browse all the journals we have an a particular subject (such as Biology)

Recommended Databases

The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of education:

Google Scholar

It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.