New Hampshire Literary Hall of Fame
New Hampshire Literary Hall of Fame
The New Hampshire Literary Hall of Fame was founded to bring attention to the rich and diverse literary heritage of the state as well as the current vibrant writing community by honoring prominent New Hampshire authors.
Created by the The New Hampshire Writers Project (NHWP), the New Hampshire Hall of Fame will induct two new honorees every other year. The nomination and selection process is administered by the NHWP. The New Hampshire Literary Hall of Fame is housed at Southern New Hampshire University's Wolak Library Learning Commons. It consists of specially curated materials and displays and is open to the public.
New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan read the official proclamation announcing the first inductees on February 25, 2015. Two new inductees will be selected every other year.
The honorees for the inaugural class of 2015 are: Robert Frost, John Irving, Donald Hall and Grace Metalious.
New Hampshire Writer's Project
- New Hampshire Writer's Project (NHWP)The New Hampshire Writer's Project (NHWP) supports the development of individual writers and encourages an audience for literature in the state of New Hampshire. NHWP is a nonprofit literary arts organization funded by its members as well as organizations and businesses who believe in supporting our region's writers and literary Heritage.
Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library
- Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State LibraryThe Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library was established in 2003 to celebrate and promote reading, books, literacy, and the literary heritage of New Hampshire and to highlight the role that reading and libraries play in enriching the lives of the people of the Granite State. Visit our blog, Book Notes for the latest Center for the Book news.
Literature Databases
- Literature Criticism - Gale This link opens in a new windowLarge, extensive compilation of literary commentary. SNHU subscribes to: Contemporary Literary Criticism, 1960 - present; Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, 1900-1960; Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism; Shakespeare Criticism; and Poetry Criticism.
- Literature Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOver a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
