Find More with a Google Search
It's true that you can find some high-quality, trustworthy websites to use in your research. If you're going to use websites, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Includes Bates Physical Examination Videos and OSCE Clinical Skills Videos.
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of nursing:
- CINAHL Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals
- Nursing Journals on Ovid This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text journals in nursing, including "American Journal of Nursing" (AJN)
- Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowReliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of health science ebooks from multiple publishers
A-Z Database List
You can see a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to on our A-Z Database List. The A-Z Database List page includes an alphabetical list of all the databases the library subscribes to as well as databases grouped together by subject (e.g. "Business") or type (e.g. "Course Guides").
Interlibrary Loan
If you identify articles within certain journals that are not owned by SNHU's Shapiro Library, you can request that we borrow them from another library using our Interlibrary Loan service. This is a free service to members of the SNHU community, including students, faculty, and staff.
Through Interlibrary Loan, we can borrow items such as journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and other circulating materials.
Presently we can borrow most articles via electronic requests and email delivery. We typically can turn around journal article requests in 3 to 5 business days, although it may sometimes take longer. Start your research early in order to give yourself enough time to use Interlibrary Loan, if necessary.
Click on the "Interlibrary Loan" tabbed page on this guide for more details.