About the Multi-Search

The Multi-Search allows users to search multiple databases at the same time. Users can find scholarly articles, book, eBooks, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, book reviews, and more using the Multi-Search.

Uses

Most Useful For

• Searching many sources at once and saving time by "casting a wide net" instead of searching individual databases one at a time
• Searching for a lot of different material types at once (e.g. books and eBooks, scholarly articles, newspapers, streaming video, etc.)

Cautions

• Can be overwhelming--searches that are not specific enough may bring back too many results
• Doesn't search ALL library databases and electronic resources--users may miss some good sources if they only use the Multi-Search

Our Recommendation

Consider using the Multi-Search primarily when one or more of the following apply:

• You are having trouble finding information on your topic
• You are not sure where to start looking for information on your topic
• You have a fairly specific topic in mind
• You are interested in finding a wide variety of source types.

What does it Search?

The Multi-Search searches our Online Library Catalog and a significant number of our databases and electronic resources. The exact databases the Multi-Search searches varies according to a number of variables.

Please keep in mind that the Multi-Search searches many of the library's databases and electronic resources but not all of them.

If you have a very specialized subject that you are searching for or are having limited success using the Multi-Search, consider using our A-Z Database List or ask the library (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) for assistance.

How does it work?

The Multi-Search works just like most other library databases. Enter keywords to do a basic search, then limit your search results and refine your keywords as needed for better results. There is also an option for an advanced search which will allow you to search by author, title, publication date, content type, etc.

Keep in mind that since the Multi-Search is searching multiple databases for your keywords, you may get back too many results or results that are not quite what you need for your research. It's a good idea to use effective searching techniques such as these when using the Multi-Search:

• Use Boolean operators: words like "and," "or," and "not" to narrow or broaden your search results.
  • AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms (e.g. cell phones and distracted driving)
  • OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms (e.g. cell phones or smartphones)
  • NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it (e.g. cell phones not track phones)
• Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase (e.g. "corporate social responsibility").
• Group search terms together using parentheses: search terms in parentheses will be searched first by the system (e.g. (cell phones or smartphones) and distracted driving).