PHL 230 - Religions of the World
Library Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes to many databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more. These are some of the recommended databases for doing research on the subjects of the world's religions. For tips on searching within a database, see Search Tips. You can see a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to on our A - Z Database List.
World History in Context
The World History In Context database reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. World History In Context can be found on the A - Z Database List from our library homepage.
World History In Context also has a good selection of resources on several major world religions. Click on the "Browse Issues" link in the upper left corner of the page to see a list of their Topic Pages. From the "Choose a Category" drop-down menu, choose "Religions." This will bring up a list of Topic Pages on a variety of world religions, including a selection of Abrahamic and Eastern religions. You can browse through the content of the Topic Page, or use the "Search within page" search box on the right side of the page to find resources on a specific belief or existential question within that religion.
Credo
Credo is an extensive database of academic reference materials. Credo can be found on the A - Z Database List from our library homepage.
Searching this resource for the name of the religion, or for a belief or existential question within a religion, will lead you to short reference entries that provide introductory information. These entries are a good way to familiarize yourself with the key terms and concepts related to a particular topic. Some entries also feature bibliographies listing major book and article resources that you can search for in the Shapiro Library or request through Interlibrary Loan.
Useful Databases
- World History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowWorld History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Includes primary sources, reference, and multi-media content.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Periodicals Index Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
