A database is a collection of information organized to allow for efficient retrieval. The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, videos, images, audio, statistics, websites, or combinations of them). In the case of library databases, the information has been curated, or consciously selected according to specific criteria. The Shapiro Library pays for annual subscriptions to various databases of information that are pertinent to areas of study and research for students, faculty and staff at Southern New Hampshire University. Your My.SNHU login authenticates your access as a SNHU community member to these proprietary resources.
Having a clear, compelling point of view on today’s most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Opposing Viewpoints In Context simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
NewsBank: Access World News: Features thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Designed in collaboration with academic librarians, this primary resource solution supports a wide range of academic disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, social sciences and more. The New Hampshire Union Leader and New Hampshire News Sources are available as buttons on the home interface.
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 40 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately. The ProQuest Platform is optimized to provide deep subject access, as well as the best interdisciplinary cross-search for many levels of users. After conducting a search in the Shapiro Library Multi-Search box, a list of results will come up. Click on the ProQuest box at the top of the right hand margin. Your search terms will be inserted into the ProQuest search box and will automatically bring up a new set of results in a new tab.
Academic Video Online, formerly known as Alexander Street Press, provides videos that have been curated by faculty, librarians, archives, and publishers to supply quality content that is designed to assist students in furthering their research and learning using a visual medium. All the videos are copyright secure and contain supporting reference and contextual material for students to deepen their research as needed.
For more information, see Finding & Using Videos in the Shapiro Library.
For how to embed video links and library content in your course, check out our library linking guide, Using Shapiro Content in the LMS.
