Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Using Shapiro Library Content in the LMS

This guide is for SNHU instructional designers, course developers, deans, faculty and staff that want to use library resources in the LMS and to ensure best practices are followed.

Locating Full Text


When using library databases for research, look for the "Full Text PDF", "HTML Full Text", "EPUB Full Text", "Link to Full Text" options that appear on the search or record pages to read (download and print often times too) right away.

PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text

The screenshot below shows the PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text options that appear in the Multi-Search database below the title of the eBook. 

screenshot of an eBook from the Multi-search database. Title of the book is first, followed by the citation. Under neath the subject headings, the icons for PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text appear.

Full Text Finder

There will be times that the full text is not available inside the database you are searching, but that does not mean that the library does not have the resource. You will see the linked option for "Full Text Finder" instead, which is a tool that searches across our databases for that item. If we have it, you will be brought directly to the full text of the resource.  When you are brought into the page that contains the full text option(s), this is where we want to grab the link for use in the LMS. Putting the intermediary page where the Full Text Finder button appears for learners that need to read the text in a course/competency is not best practice (think about the potential for frustration). 

screenshot of an academic journal result in the multi-search database. Under the subject heading the full text finder button appears.

Request via Interlibrary Loan**

There will also be times that you will see a citation and abstract for a resource, but we do not have the full text of the item. In this case, there will be a Request via Interlibrary Loan link. **Do NOT put a resource into the LMS that has this link/icon (ever!). This means we do not have the item and the learner would have to request it. ILL is for individual research needs, not for curricular needs. If there is a resource that you want to use and you can't find something similar, work with your eLearning Librarian to discuss purchase options (but this can take time). 

screenshot of an academic journal result in the multi-search database. under the subjects the request via interlibrary loan button appears