The Multi-Search
Search for books, articles, and more using the Multi-Search:
Recommended Databases
Databases are library search engines that provide access to scholarly articles and many other types of sources. The following databases are particularly useful for research in the fields of philosophy and ethics:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- Credo Reference: PhilosophyOver 400 reference entries on philosophy and related people and topics.
- Project MUSE: Philosophy JournalsWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Access to eBooks is not available at this time.
- Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.