Master of Fine Arts in Fiction and Non-Fiction
Scholarly Criticism
- Literature Criticism - Gale This link opens in a new windowContemporary Literary Criticism; Biographical information
- Literature Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOver a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowMore scholarly than literary but you might find references to other material. Names as subjects is a good author search.
- eBooks - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes American Writers, British Writers, Science Fiction Writers, etc.
- Modern Fiction Studies (1981-2006; 2010-)Held in Periodicals Shelves by Title More critically focused than literary, but may spark ideas or offer useful references to other material. “Devoted to criticism of modern and contemporary narrative and theory”.
Literary Magazines
(Held in Periodicals Shelves by Title)
AGNI (2007-present): “Includes fiction, poetry, essays and reviews by established and emerging writers, including Derek Walcott, Rosanna Warren, Noam Chomsky, and Jill McCorkle”.
Creative Nonfiction (2007-present): “Focuses on the emerging genre of creative or literary nonfiction-journalism. Publishes profiles, essays, memoir and book excerpts”.
Tin House (2007-present): “Presents stories, poems, profiles of writers and features”.
Glimmer Train Stories (2007-present): “Includes short stories, interviews with writers and other artists, and spotlights on short fiction writing from different parts of the world”.
The Paris Review (1971-1983; 2010-present): “Renowned for its "Writers at Work" interview series in which important contemporary writers discuss their own work and their craft of writing. Fiction, poetry, literary essays and art portfolios are published”.
Ploughshares (1986-present) “Introduces new American writing, guest-edited by major writers who explore different and personal visions, aesthetics, and literary circles”.
The Sewanee Review (1986-present) “Distinguished, traditional literary magazine devoted to British and American fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, and criticism. Includes Advertising, Illustrations, Book Reviews”.
- Studies in American FictionStudies in American Fiction publishes reviews and articles on a wide temporal range in American fiction.
- Novel: A Forum on FictionNovel is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to the best new criticism and theory in novel studies. The journal was founded in 1967 at Brown University for the purpose of promoting new approaches to the study of the novel.
- Short Story in Theory and PracticeShort Fiction in Theory & Practice provides an international forum for all those writing, reading, translating or publishing the short story, in all its diversity – including flash fiction, the novella, cycles, sequences, anthologies and single-author collections; hypertext, popular fiction (e.g. science fiction, horror), the prose poem, the non-fiction story and other hybrid genres. It looks at the short story from the practitioner’s viewpoint; we are concerned with the ongoing process and philosophy of composition rather than the ‘postevent’ dissection of literary texts.