Journalism & Research (Campus)
This guide is intended to help you identify and locate scholarly and non-scholarly resources (books, articles, etc.) on the subject of journalism & research.
The Newseum
The Newseum This link opens in a new window in Washington D.C. is the place for all things journalism & information. Check out their collection, Today's Front Pages This link opens in a new window, of 85 front pages from across the U.S.
Newspapers & News Archive Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of newspapers and news archives:
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Chronicle of Philanthropy This link opens in a new windowNewspaper that connects the nonprofit world with news, jobs, and ideas.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
- New York Times (Historical) - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowDigitized articles from the New York Times from 1851 - 2020. Looking for the most recent NYT editions?
- News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires
- Newspaper Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text for regional, national and international newspapers and television & radio news transcripts
- Regional Business News - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCoverage of U.S. business journals, newspapers and newswires
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of articles from the world's leading financial newspaper
