PSY 407 - Contemporary Issues in Applied Psychology
This Guide focuses on library resources covering recent advances in applied psychology and ethical considerations. Access to information sources covering current issues within various areas in psychology are included.
Interlibrary Loan
If you identify articles within certain journals that are not owned by SNHU's Shapiro Library, you can request that we borrow them from another library using our Interlibrary Loan service. This is a free service to members of the SNHU community, including students, faculty, and staff.
Through Interlibrary Loan, we can borrow items such as journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and other circulating materials.
Presently we can borrow most articles via electronic requests and email delivery. We typically can turn around journal article requests in 3 to 5 business days, although it may sometimes take longer. Start your research early in order to give yourself enough time to use Interlibrary Loan, if necessary.
Click on the "Interlibrary Loan" tabbed page in this guide for more details.
Academic Journals, Magazines & Professional Journals
Search these databases by keyword, author, title, or subject to find articles on your topic in academic journals, magazines, and other professional journals.
- PsycINFO - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA, contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines
- PsycARTICLES - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA: a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
- PsycEXTRA - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the APA; document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, and consumer brochures
- Psychology Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals and indexing from top psychology and related publications
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of psychiatric references, including books, journals and self-assessment tools. Provides access to the DSM-5. The following journals are available through this database: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, and The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowThe SAGE Journals platform includes full text of scholarly journals from SAGE publications in many disciplines, such as, education, sociology, women's studies, criminal justice and business.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to magazines and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals on growth and development of children through the age of 21
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts from education-related journals and document published by ERIC.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCoverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar may be used to identify a number of journal articles, books, dissertations; etc. in your field of research. Those results available through the Shapiro Library's databases will appear with links to the right of each title, if searching Google Scholar while logged in to the library.