SCS 224 (Campus) - Social Science Research Methods
Brainstorming and Mind Mapping
Brainstorming
Brainstorming is a way to come up with topics or ideas. It allows a person to casually consider multiple topics, ideas, theories, etc. without judgment and to take some ideas further into actual projects or as tools to consider more topics, ideas, theories, etc. MindTools' Brainstorming page has tools and more information about brainstorming.
Mind Mapping
A mind map is a visual representation of your issue or topic. It is a tool that is used to visualize ideas and opportunities for broadening or narrowing down search topics. MindTools' Mind Mapping page has tools and more information on mind mapping.
There are a number of free brainstorming and mind mapping tools available online like Bubbl.us and Popplet. Alternatively, try the mind map available via Credo Reference (click "Mind Map" on the Credo Reference homepage):
Lit Review Templates
Another way to "map" your literature review sources is to use a chart format. A two chart system would entail creating one chart that lists each source and highlights key descriptors, and a second chart where the overall topic is broken down into sub-topics derived from the "main ideas" from the first chart. Each one of these "sub-topics" or issues then has the specific sources (articles, book chapters, etc.) that explain/support that issue/idea listed next to them. You may relabel the columns in this template and include the number of pages you will devote to each sub-topic in your research paper as required for Homework #6 in this course SCS224.
- Source Matrix for Literature ReviewThis document consists of 2 charts that work together to map a literature review. The first lists each source with main idea, study population, results/conclusions, limitations, connections. The second chart is laid out by sub-topics with sources delineated for each.
Homework #4 - Concept Map
Assignment: Construct a concept map for your research
Read these sources about literature reviews and concept mapping:
- Research Methods Knowledge Base - Concept Mapping This link opens in a new window By William M.K. Trochim
- Building a Conceptual Framework: Literature Review as Process & Product This link opens in a new window By Judith Burton
Concept Mapping Resources
Visualizing Social Science Research by ISBN: 9781412991049Publication Date: 2011-07-12Chapter 2 | Concept Maps and Mind Maps: Theory, Definitions, and Approaches
- Concept Mapping In: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation This link openDefines concept mapping, evaluation of them, claims about them, and provides an in-depth student sample of a concept map.
- Concept Mapping In: Encyclopedia of Evaluation This link opens in a new windowDiscusses Nowak & Gowin's individual-based concept mapping and Trochim's structured conceptualization, a 6-step process, group idea-mapping methodology based on the integration of familiar group processes such as brainstorming and idea sorting with the multivariate statistical methods of multidimensional scaling and hierarchical cluster analysis.
CREDO Mind Maps
The CREDO Reference database is a compilation of "tertiary sources" meaning reference resources like specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and informational resources that organize, categorize, collect and summarize information from primary and secondary sources. CREDO provides mind maps for various topics, with an accompanying list of sources. With each click on an item in the mind map, a new list of sources is shown as well as a further iteration of the map with concept at the center.
Credo Database Link
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
Sample Mind Map from CREDO for "Cooperative Housing"
Clicking on any of the outer points of the Mind Map will lead to a new mind map with that concept at the center and a new list of sources.
Remember that the sources in CREDO help you to understand an overall picture of your topic and the issues embedded within it. You will need to research each of these issues to find scholarly sources for your research paper. The CREDO source can help provide ideas for search terms you might use as your pursue research on your topic.