International Reporting Comparison
Homework #1 Assignment
Find articles from three international news sources. Compare the reporting from different parts of the world. For example, compare reporting of the civil war in Syria from the three of the following sources: Al Jazeera, The Lebanon Daily Star, The Jerusalem Post, The Washington Post, The New York Times, BBC, The Global Times of China, The China Daily, The Times of India. Be sure to summarize the key points where they agree and where the account differs. All students will examine the same event. This will be determined during the first synchronous class session.
Databases to Locate International News
Once a common event is determined by the class, use keywords from that event to search in the library databases for international news articles about that event to compare to one another.
- NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank: Access World News includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Sources include newspapers, newswires, web-only content, PDF images, transcripts from audio, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIn addition to legal and company information, Nexis Uni provides access to over 1000 international news sources in seven different languages.
- News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires
- Newspaper Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text for regional, national and international newspapers and television & radio news transcripts
