HIS 200 - Applied History
Research guidance and support for HIS-200 Applied History research assignments.
Primary Sources
Consider using search terms like Cherokee removal, Trail of Tears, Native American, etc. as you explore the library's subscription databases and the selected outside websites with quality digitized primary source collections. If you can identify any key figures from the time period, you can use their names as keywords as well. Keep in mind that many databases and websites will also have a date filter that you can use to ensure that you are looking at the right time period in history.
Databases with Primary Sources
- U.S. History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 5,000 primary source documents, full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
- Primary Source Collections by Adam MatthewAdam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. SNHU Shapiro Library subscribes to the following collections: African American Communities, American History 1493-1945, the Confidential Print: North America collection in Archives Direct, Defining Gender, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920, Race Relations in America, and Socialism On Film. For more information on how to use these database, please see these tutorial videos.
Websites with Primary Sources
- Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's premiere sources of primary documents on American Indians. Topics covered include Native American archaeology, ethnology, art, and language; the history of the contact between Europeans and native peoples; voyages, travels, and accounts of early America; the development of cartography of the Western Hemisphere; and the history of the aboriginal peoples under the jurisdiction of the U.S. in the Philippine Islands and Hawaii.
- Library of Congress: Indian Removal Act: Primary Documents in American History This link opens in a new windThis guide contains digital materials at the Library of Congress related to the Indian Removal Act of 1830 and its after-effects, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.