HIS 200 - Applied History
Research guidance and support for HIS-200 Applied History research assignments.
Secondary Sources
Consider using search terms like women's suffrage, right to vote, equal rights, Nineteenth Amendment, etc. as you explore the library's subscription databases for secondary sources. If you can identify any key figures in the movement, you can use their names as keywords, as well as important keywords from your research question.
Databases with Secondary Sources
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of searchable high quality books in the Humanities
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- U.S. History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 5,000 primary source documents, full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
