Shapiro Library Free & Fun Resources
Library staff share free and fun resources we have both in the library and that we've found around the web. Check them out!
Welcome!
This guide is designed to point you to resources to keep you connected to fun and free options to learn, take a break and relax. Resources are either available for free on the web or through Shapiro Library. Take a look at some of the things we are watching, using, or downloading to keep us engaged and busy!
Shapiro Streaming Video Databases
Shapiro's collections include streaming film resources. We've selected the resources we think will be the most interesting, including feature films, indie films, and documentaries. For a full list of Shapiro's Video databases, visit the A-Z Database list.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowThe Digitalia film library includes both popular films and documentaries. It contains collections devoted to Latin American, Cuban, Brazilian, European and French cinema, as well as subject collections. Foreign films include captions.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowFeature Films for Education offers hundreds of full-length feature films. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more. NOTE: This database does not work with Chrome. Please use an alternative browser (e.g. Firefox)..
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides access to films in a variety of subject areas.
Shapiro Library eBooks
- OverDrive This link opens in a new windowBorrow eBooks & audiobooks from the comfort of your home, or on-the-go with your tablet, phone or eReader with Libby from OverDrive! OverDrive is the industry’s leading digital reading platform, offers the largest digital content catalog in the world to more than 81,000 libraries and schools in 106 countries, and the highest-rated apps. We now offer content via Libby, which you can download here:
For assistance, please visit: https://help.libbyapp.com
*Please note: When Libby asks for a Library Card, use your SNHU email and password.
Learn a New Language!
With no sports or events to watch, try learning a new language using Mango Languages accessed through the Shapiro Library's A-Z Database List. They even have Pirate! Arrr Mateys!
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new windowOnline Language learning e-resource NOTE: You will be prompted to create an account so you can save your lesson progress. There is also a Mango Languages App for use with an Android phone, iPhone or iPad. Once you have registered with Mango Languages, you can downloaded the app from the Apple or Android store and log in with your Mango Languages username and password.
