Company Research
The Shapiro Library databases offer detailed company information including annual reports, SWOT analyses, CRUSH reports (CRUSH Reports track and report on Fortune 1000 and Global 500 companies with IT architectures, strategies, org charts, contact info, budgets, and insights to projects and initiatives, as well as pinpointing specific technology business drivers to help you better identify internal needs), third-party analyst reports, and more.
Recommended databases for company research:
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser. - MarketLine (Explorer) This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions. To access data click "Explorer" under Cross Industry Intelligence Center.
- Mergent INTELLECT This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. This database also includes Hoovers and Key Business Ratios with First Research. Read this FAQ about how to access and use First Research.
Tips for researching organizations
- Research the company using the Handshake Employer Search This link opens in a new window.
- Check out the organization’s website.
- Search for the organization’s website using a common search engine, such as Google. Organizations usually have links to their “About Us”, “To Learn More”, or “Employment Opportunities” pages. This is a good place to start learning about the organization.
- Look them up on a professional website.
- Read about the organization’s profile on a professional website such as LinkedIn.
- Example: Explore About LinkedIn This link opens in a new window and the Company Profile on LinkedIn This link opens in a new window to learn about LinkedIn including information about their location, size, goods and services, mission, vision, values, and culture.
- Read about the organization’s profile on a professional website such as LinkedIn.
- Check out their profile on a job board website.
- Go to any professional job board and search for the organization you are seeking information about. A common job board that provides company profiles is Indeed.com This link opens in a new window. In addition to learning about the current organization, you may also see available positions for the types of roles they are hiring for.
- Additional information may be found on a number of websites including Comparably.com This link opens in a new window or Glassdoor This link opens in a new window.
Let’s Try It!
Use the resources and tips above to research Southern New Hampshire University.
- Where is the organization located?
- What is SNHU’s mission, vision, and values?
- What is their culture?
- How many people does SNHU employ?
- What goods or services do they offer?