Suggested Resources to Search
The following library databases are collections you can search for resources that will help support your research and ideas in the course projects. Read the short descriptions below the database links, as this informs you as to what type of information you can find within it. Library databases are not the only place to look for credible information. Included in this list are suggested websites, archives and museum links that may also be helpful in your search for information. These are not the only resources you can use, but will get you started.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.
- Art Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFeaturing full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. It covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia with articles on visual arts from prehistory to the present day
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowOxford Classical Dictionary contains 6,000 full-text online articles from the print 4th edition as well as newly commissioned and updated entries. It is the first place to turn for clear, authoritative information on all aspects of ancient culture.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism This link opens in a new windowAn accessible and intuitive online platform, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism. Includes over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images.
- Biography In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowBiography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowOxford's Very Short Introductions eBook series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.
- Literature Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOver a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
- Literature Criticism - Gale This link opens in a new windowLarge, extensive compilation of literary commentary. SNHU subscribes to: Contemporary Literary Criticism, 1960 - present; Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, 1900-1960; Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism; Shakespeare Criticism; and Poetry Criticism.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
This link opens in a new window
Discover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. - Digital Public Library of America
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge. Discover 43,864,848 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States - National Archives
- This link opens in a new window
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you. - Digital Collection from the British Library
- This link opens in a new window
We are the national library of the United Kingdom and give access to the world’s most comprehensive research collection. We provide information services to academic, business, research and scientific communities. Our collection of over 170 million items includes artefacts from every age of written civilisation. We keep the nation’s archive of printed and digital publications, adding around three million new items to our collection every year. - Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Our digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books and manuscripts (available in either our Digital Library or as part of the Biodiversity Heritage Library) as well as digitized photo collections, ephemera, and seed catalogs. - Library of Congress Digital Collections
- This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors. Whether you are new to the Library of Congress or an experienced researcher, we have a world-class staff ready to assist you online and in person. I encourage you to visit the Library of Congress in person in Washington, D.C., explore the Library online from wherever you are and connect with us on social media. Sincerely, Carla Hayden Librarian of Congress
