Healthcare Finance eBooks
Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance, Third Edition by
In today's evolving healthcare environment, astute financial management is more important than ever to an organization's economic well-being. Leaders throughout the enterprise--not just financial managers but clinical and operational managers, too--must have a solid grounding in finance to be able to improve care and deliver value. Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles and applications of healthcare finance that managers use daily. In clear and succinct language, the book provides readers--from students and entry-level managers to more experienced practitioners with newly added management or financial responsibilities--with a detailed overview of finance topics ranging from planning and budgeting to financial operations, capital investment, and risk analysis. Practice scenarios, examples, self-test questions, sidebars on financial practices in healthcare, and running glossary definitions help bring these topics to life. This book's original author, Louis C. Gapenski, PhD, was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In this new edition, authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song further refine Dr. Gapenski's concepts and teachings. In addition to updated examples and statistics, this edition includes new or expanded information on: Current community benefit reporting requirementsService line costingApplications of capital investment decision analysisInternational financial reporting standardsNot-for-profit accounting standardsFinancial accountingHealthcare legislation Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance equips readers with the knowledge, vocabulary, and understanding they need to interpret financial data and to communicate and work effectively with finance leaders in their organizations.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781567939750Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Healthcare Finance by
The essential concepts of both accounting and financial management are covered in this best-selling healthcare finance book. Through clear explanations, numerous examples, and realistic practice problems, it arms future managers with the grounding they need to make financially sound decisions for their healthcare organizations. This thoroughly updated edition provides more emphasis on the unique marketplace for healthcare services and additional examples from nonhospital settings, including medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Particular content changes include: Expanded discussion of health insurance, reimbursement methodologies, and the impact of healthcare reform on provider behavior A new presentation of managerial accounting material that follows a more logical progression of concepts, emphasizing the level of analysis (organization, department, service) rather than techniques Coverage of three service-line costing methods: cost-to-charge ratio, relative value unit, and activity-based costing. Plus, an introduction to time-driven activity-based costing, a method for costing at the patient level. Updated financial accounting formats that conform to the latest American Institute of Certified Public Accountants guidance Increased coverage of the revenue cycle This edition also features a more user-friendly layout and additional end-of-chapter practice problems. Online student resources include: A chapter on lease financing and business valuation (previously included in the book) A chapter on distributions to owners: bonuses, dividends, and repurchases Use the companion casebook for even more classroom application! Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition, is an ideal supplement to this text. Through real-world cases, it bridges the gap between learning concepts in a lecture setting and applying these concepts on the job. Students will be better prepared to deal with the multitude of issues that arise in the practice of healthcare finance!
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781567937411Publication Date: 2016-12-01
The Middleboro Casebook by
Give your students the opportunity to gain insight into the inner workings of a community and its healthcare providers. Students can practice and sharpen their managerial skills by applying what they learn to realistic scenarios. Instructors can use the cases in this book as a platform for helping students understand the interplay of factors that influence the development of healthcare strategy. Now in its second edition, The Middleboro Casebook offers a series of flexible, multipart, and integrated cases that bring to life eight healthcare organizations--two hospitals, a long-term care facility, a home health agency, two physician group practices, a community mental health center, and a county health department--in the fictional town of Middleboro and its surrounding communities. Created with today's healthcare issues and realities in mind, each organization's demographic, socioeconomic, and environmental characteristics are described in detail, including its: History Governance Organizational structure and strategies Programs and services Finance Operational challenges In this updated edition, all cases have been thoroughly revised to reflect changes in legislation, economic developments, and industry trends. All data have been updated or modified, and new organizational entities have been added, including a new case that portrays a community mental health center. The Middleboro Casebook can be used in undergraduate- and graduate-level health administration programs, as well as in business schools and public health or public administration programs. The book works equally well in capstone courses and multiple foundational courses, or as a recurring element woven throughout a program's entire curriculum.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781567938562Publication Date: 2017-08-01
The Core Elements of Value in Healthcare by
When you go shopping, do you simply go to the store with the intention of buying as many items as you can? Or do you select items based on the quality and satisfaction they will deliver for the money you spend? For most people, the quality of a product, relative to its cost, is most important. The field of healthcare today is making a similar distinction, placing a heightened emphasis on the delivery of value as opposed to sheer volume. So what exactly does it mean to deliver value in healthcare? For decades, providers in the United States operated according to a model of volume-based care, under the general assumption that more care was better. In recent years, however, important developments in policy and payment and innovations in disease management, complex case management, population health, predictive analytics, and decision support have contributed to a paradigm shift toward value-based care. Organizations are now striving to eliminate waste, deliver higher-quality care at a lower cost, and increase patient satisfaction. The Core Elements of Value in Healthcare provides a comprehensive introduction to value in healthcare as it relates to policy, delivery, finance, economics, strategy, public health, population health, operations, compliance, managed care, accountable care, and preventive medicine. The concepts of this book are reinforced through case examples and detailed discussion questions that encourage readers to apply the key principles as they learn. Drawing from his experience as a physician, a hospital executive, and the founder of a medical group and health plan, Dr. Paveljit S. Bindra examines value from a variety of perspectives. Specific areas of focus include the following: Clinical innovationsAlignment structuresPayment reformQuality improvementInformation technology The Core Elements of Value in Healthcare equips readers with the knowledge to address disparate elements in the healthcare value chain, and it demonstrates how effective coordination of these elements can enhance the quality of care, reduce costs, and improve patient satisfaction and outcomes.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781567939705Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Business Basics for Nurses by
Business Basics for Nurses is a practical guide that informs and expands thinking for nurses considering or already involved in business. Written to stimulate and enhance creative thinking and showcase how business acumen will make any nurse a better practitioner, author Suzanne Waddill-Goad establishes that the behind-the-scenes business of healthcare can be just as important as clinical care. Filled with tips, exercises, and real-world case studies, Business Basics for Nurses is a shortcut to familiarity with business processes prevalent in healthcare systems today. This excellent resource provides guidance on: Evaluating business processes, Understanding marketing, demonstrating leadership, and leveraging technology, Determining value, Building business plans, Creating or assessing infrastructure, Ensuring compliance, understanding finance, and capitalizing on expertise, Influencing external and internal environments Book jacket.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781940446189Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Sample Books: Business Administration
The following books are a sample of our library books and ebooks on the subject of business administration. For more books and ebooks please search the Online Library Catalog or ask a librarian for help.
Guide to Reference in Business and Economics by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780838912348Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The SAGE Handbook of Multilevel Modeling by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780857025647Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Deep Knowledge of B2B Relationships Within and Across Borders by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781781908587Publication Date: 2013-08-08
Business Plans Handbook by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781414477282Publication Date: 2013-10-11
Are you an online student who can't get to the library in person? Request a print book be mailed to you!