Cases - COM 530 - Law and Ethics - Research Guides at Southern New Hampshire University

How to: Search for Case Law

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
HeinOnline Legal Databases This link opens in a new window
Core collection of current and historical law and law-related periodicals, classic books and reports. Includes government and political documents, such as World Constitutions, US Congressional Documents, the Federal Register and much more. Includes the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World Collection (found within the UNC Press Law collection).
LegalTrac - Gale This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.

Case Consortium This link opens in a new window
(Columbia Law) "In the Case Method classroom, students put themselves in the shoes of a protagonist facing a decision to which there is no 'right answer.' Students are expected to analyze the situation, identify the problem and who 'owns' it, prescribe a solution, defend their views, persuade their colleagues, and/or amend their own position in the face of new information or persuasive arguments from others."
Ethics Case Studies This link opens in a new window
(The Media School, Indiana University Bloomington) "This set of cases has been created for teachers, researchers, professional journalists and consumers of news to help them explore ethical issues in journalism. The cases raise a variety of ethical problems faced by journalists, including such issues as privacy, conflict of interest, reporter- source relationships, and the role of journalists in their communities."
Journalism and Media Ethics Cases This link opens in a new window
(Markkula Center for Applied Ethics, Santa Clara University) "Find ethics case studies on journalism covering topics such as stealth journalism, pressures from advertisers, and the personal lives of public officials."