Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

APA Style: Basics

This guide is intended to help you cite sources in APA style, avoid plagiarism, learn what APA style is and includes, find examples of APA style, lead you to campus resources that can help you cite sources in APA, and more.

Books


NOTE: Don't forget to indent the second and subsequent lines. 

Print Book

General Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of book. Source.

For Example

Harari, Y. N. (2015). Sapiens: A brief history of humankind. HarperCollins Publishers.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Harari, 2015)

OR

Harari (2015)

 

eBook

General Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of book. Source. DOI

For Example

Sundel, M., & Sundel, S. S. (2018). Behavior change in the human services: Behavioral and cognitive principles and applications. SAGE Publications, Inc. https://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781506352671

NOTE: If the book has a DOI include the DOI after the Source (publisher). Do not include database information in the reference. If an eBook doesn't have a DOI and you accessed it via a database the format will be the same as a print book.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Sundel & Sundel, 2018)

OR

Sundel and Sundel (2018)

Print Book

General Format

Chapter Author, A. A. (Date). Tile of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B.B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page number-page number). Source.

For Example

Lindeke, L., Zwygart-Stauffacher, M., Avery, M., & Fagerlund, K. (2006). Overview of advanced practice nursing. In Jansen, M. P., Zwygart-Stauffacher, M., & M. P. M. Jansen (Eds.), Advanced practice nursing: Core concepts for professional role development (pp. 3-26). Springer Publishing Company.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Lindeke et al., 2006)

OR

Lindeke et al. (2006)

 

eBook

General Format

Chapter Author, A. A. (Date). Tile of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B.B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page number-page number). Source. DOI

For Example

Steenblik, R., Sauvage, J., & Timiliotis, C. (2018). Fossil fuel subsidies and the global trade regime. In J. Skovgaard & H. Van Asselt (Eds.), The politics of fossil fuel subsidies and their reform (pp. 121-139). Cambridge University Press. https://dx.doi.org/10.1017/9781108241946.009

NOTE: If the book has a DOI include the DOI after the Source (publisher). Do not include database information in the reference. If an eBook doesn't have a DOI and you accessed it via a database the format will be the same as a print book.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Steenblik et al., 2018)

OR

Steenblik et al. (2018)

Print Book

General Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Eds.). (Date). Title of volume (Vol. number). Source.

OR

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Eds.). (Date). Title of main title: Vol. number. Title of volume Source.

For Example

Wuketits, F. M., & Antweiler, C. (Eds.). (2004). Handbook of evolution: The evolution of human societies and cultures (Vol. 1). John Wiley & Sons.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Wuketits & Antweiler, 2004)

OR

Wuketits and Antweiler (2004)

 

eBook

General Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Eds.). (Date). Title of volume (Vol. number). Source. DOI

OR

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Eds.). (Date). Title of main title: Vol. number. Title of volume Source. DOI

For Example

Tolman, D. L., Diamond, L. M., Bauermeister, J. A., George, W. H., Pfaus, J. G., & Ward, L. M. (Eds.). (2014). APA handbook of sexuality and psychology, Vol. 1. Person-based approaches. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/14193-000

NOTE: If the book has a DOI include the DOI after the Source (publisher). Do not include database information in the reference. If an eBook doesn't have a DOI and you accessed it via a database the format will be the same as a print book.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Tolman et al., 2014)

OR

Tolman et al. (2014)

Print Book

General Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, C. C. Editor, & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Main title: Vol. number. Title of volume (pp. page number-page number). Source.

For Example

Fernandez, E. (2008). The angry personality: A representation on six dimensions of anger expression. In G. J. Boyle, G. Matthews, & D. H. Saklofske (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of personality theory and assessment: Volume 2. Personality measurement and testing (pp. 402-419). SAGE Publications.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Fernandez, 2008)

OR

Fernandez (2008)

 

eBook

General Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, C. C. Editor, & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Main title: Vol. number. Title of volume (pp. page number-page number). Source. DOI.

For Example

Pettit, M., & Hegarty, P. (2014). Psychology and sexuality in historical time. In D. L. Tolman, L. M. Diamond, J. A. Bauermeister, W. H. George, J. G. Pfaus, & L. M. Ward (Eds.), APA handbook of sexuality and psychology, Vol. 1. Person-based approaches (pp. 63–78). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/14193-000

NOTE: If the book has a DOI include the DOI after the Source (publisher). Do not include database information in the reference. If an eBook doesn't have a DOI and you accessed it via a database the format will be the same as a print book.

Corresponding In-Text Citation

(Pettit & Hegarty, 2014)

OR

Pettit and Hegarty (2014)

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

NOTE: If you are citing an older volume of the DSM check out the Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) This link opens in a new window section.

Religious Work

See the APA's Religious Work Reference Examples This link opens in a new window for examples of citing religious works.

More Information

Have multiple authors? The 7th edition has updated the format of authors in citations. Learn how to format authors on the Elements of APA Reference Lists This link opens in a new window page.