Key Journals
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of public health & epidemiology:
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals
- CINAHL Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAn essential source of high quality health care data for providers, patients, administrators, and educators. Includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Methodology Register.
- MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system
- Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowReliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
- Nursing Journals on Ovid This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text journals in nursing, including "American Journal of Nursing" (AJN)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWhether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work. PLEASE NOTE: This database only allows up to 100 users at the same time. If you are unable to access this database, please try again later.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.