Educational Leadership - Ed.D. and Ph.D.
LC Call Numbers
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System This link opens in a new window to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need.
You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library.
Not sure where to go? Ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) or check out this video for more help:
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free cooperative service between libraries that provides current SNHU students, staff, faculty, and emeritus faculty access to books, articles, and other materials that Shapiro Library does not own with the exception of textbooks. When searching library databases, if you come across a resource that we do not have, you will be brought to a screen with a link to Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan. Additionally, users may log in to the ILL system independently to create requests, check the status and retrieve electronically loaned items. Access to a user's ILL account is via the Interlibrary Loan link in the "Quick Links" box on the Shapiro Library home page.
Learn more about Interlibrary Loan: FAQ: What is Interlibrary Loan?
Online Library Catalog
You may access the Online Library Catalog from the drop-down menu beneath the "Find Articles, eBooks & More" tab on the banner across the Shapiro Library Home Page and/or search directly in the box below.
You can find books and eBooks by using the search box provided above to search the Online Library Catalog. The catalog is a list of all the print resources the library has (including print books, print journals, video games, audiobooks, and more) and also includes a record for most of our eBooks. You may search eBook databases specifically by clicking on the Find Books and eBooks tab in the drop-down menu beneath the "Find Articles, eBooks & More" tab on top of the library home page.
Try searches such as:
- appreciative AND inquiry
- differentiation AND instruction AND behavior
- "study skills" AND math AND "high school"
How to use the Online Library Catalog | Search Tips | Accessing eBooks
Suggested Resources
Proposals That Work by Call Number: Q180.55.P7 L63 2014ISBN: 9781452216850Publication Date: 2013-04-18
The Dissertation Journey by Call Number: LB1742 .R63 2010ISBN: 9781412977982Publication Date: 2010-08-23
The Action Research Dissertation: A Guide for Students and Faculty by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781452226644Publication Date: 2005
Are you an online student who can't get to the library in person? Request a print book to be mailed to you!
Accessing eBooks
Here is a listing of eBook FAQ's explaining how to access and download eBooks.
Locating and Reading Full Text
When using library databases for research, look for the "Full Text PDF", "HTML Full Text", "EPUB Full Text", or "Link to Full Text" options that appear beneath the citation of the book or article in the results list. These links will take you to the actual text of the item to read it, (save, download, print, etc.).
PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text
The screenshot below shows the PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text options that appear in the Multi-Search database below the title of the eBook.
Full Text Finder
There will be times that the full text is not available inside the database you are searching, but that does not mean that the library does not have the resource. You will see the linked option for "Full Text Finder" or "Linked to Full Text" instead, which will search across our databases for that item. If we have it, you will be brought directly to the full text of the resource.
Request via Interlibrary Loan
There will also be times that you will see a citation and abstract for a resource, but we do not have the full text of the item. In this case, there will be a Request via Interlibrary Loan link.
Click this and you will enter the Interlibrary Loan system with the information of the resource you want to request a copy. The library will send out a request for any libraries that have this item and are willing to send us an electronic copy. Please see the Interlibrary Loan information to the left of this box for more information.
If you have any difficulty getting to the full text of the resource to read, reach out to a librarian via chat, email, or phone right away, we are happy to help!