Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Educational Leadership - Ed.D. and Ph.D.

Research guide for students pursuing an Ed.D. or Ph.D. in Educational Leadership

Educational Journals

Subscription Journals

You can look for specific journals by title, ISSN, subject, or association or browse by subject by using our Periodical Finder This link opens in a new window. Check out this list of top journals on the subject of education to get you started.

Open Access Journals

In addition to subscription journals, many high-quality open access journals in the field are freely available online. A good sources for finding open access journals and articles is the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Here are direct links to a few of the open access journals you might find useful:​

Finding Articles 

The Shapiro Library subscribes to hundreds of databases which contain a variety of information formats including articles. Beginning on the Shapiro Library home page, you will see the Multi-search box. This searches about 40% of the library's subscribed content, and is a great place to begin your research to get an idea of what is available. You may search the Multi-Search directly in the search box below.

The Multi-Search

Search for books, articles, and more:

About this Search  |  Search Tips

Recommended Databases

The Shapiro Library subscribes to numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, case studies, and more from thousands of respected publishers. Follow these steps to access databases with content about the field of education:

  1. Click on the A-Z Database List in the Quick Links box on the Shapiro Library Home Page
  2. Click in the "All subjects" box at the top left of the list of databases
  3. Scroll down the list to select "Education"

The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of educational leadership:

Setting up Search Alerts in Databases

Once you establish a set of search terms/phrases that yield helpful results for your research, you may set up an "alert" whereby any new articles added to that database that meet your search parameters will be emailed to you directly! This helps keep you up-to-date on new publications about your research topic. Each database has it's own instructions for how to set up search alerts. Here are a few common ones.

EBSCO

This includes the Shapiro Library Multi-search, as well as EBSCO databases. You will need to set up an EBSCO account first to create search alerts as shown in the video below.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to find some high-quality, scholarly articles online.

  • You may sync Google Scholar to the library databases using these directions.
  • Google Scholar Search results lists do have a limiter in the left margin that allows you to narrow the date range of the results.
  • Beneath each result/citation in the results list are some options. The quotation marks icon when clicked will bring up a box with the citation for the article in a variety of formats. Scholar does a pretty accurate job with their APA citation, but always double check it with the APA Style Guide.
  • Additionally, when you find an excellent article, look it up in Google Scholar, click the "Cited by" beneath the citation and see articles that have cited your "good" article which means they were published more recently, at least after that article was published. 

As always, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.

Google Scholar Search

Setting up Search Alerts in Google Scholar

  • Go to Google Scholar and enter your search term/phrase
  • On the left side of the screen you will see a "Create Alert" icon
  • Click that icon and you will be asked to enter and set your alert query, email, and number of search results. Choose your preferences and click CREATE ALERT.

Finding Journals

The Periodical Finder allows users to:

  • Search for an individual journal by title or ISSN number
  • Browse journals by title or by subject.
  • See if the library has access to a journal and if so, how much access we have to it (e.g. issues from ten years ago to today)
  • Where to access a journal (e.g. in a database vs. in our print collection). 

You  may also want to consider:

What Should I Do If You Don't Have the Article That I Need?

Policy for Interlibrary Loan for Articles

No college or university library can provide immediate access to every journal, magazine, newspaper, or publication that exists in the world of media or that may have articles cited in its online databases. Our Interlibrary Loan service allows students to request articles that aren't readily available through the Shapiro Library.

Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list. We may already have it in our collection or databases: Periodical Finder.

All article requests must be transmitted using the Interlibrary Loan link located on the Shapiro Library page. Interlibrary Loan requests submitted in any other format will be directed to this specific form for resubmission.

The Interlibrary Loan service link will require you to login to your Interlibrary Loan account. Most article interlibrary loans are digitally transmitted and deposited into your Interlibrary Loan account. The complete process to fulfill your request will take approximately 3 to 5 business days.

In order for all of the University’s library students & faculty to have reasonable access to Interlibrary Loan services, Interlibrary Loan submissions are limited to 5 per person, per day. The timeframe for materials requested to be delivered will depend upon the volume requested, the provider’s location, and the means of transmission from the lending library.

Currently there are no charges for Interlibrary Loan service for articles.

Shapiro Library's Print Collection Article Delivery Service

Article Requests from Shapiro Library's In-House Collections

Off-campus students & faculty may request copies of articles from the Library's in-house print journals and periodicals by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request Form. In the "Notes" box at the bottom of the Request Form, please indicate that the publication and article are only available via the Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection.

Use of copied articles must be in accordance with copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code).

Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list as we may already have it available in one of our online article databases by using the Periodical Finder.

The Periodical Finder, located under the drop down tab "Find Articles, eBooks & More" on the top tool bar of the Shapiro Library Home Page is a drop tab: "Find Articles, eBooks, & More" that includes an online journal title list titled "Periodical Finder" that includes all of the full-text periodicals subscribed to within our online databases as well as our in-house print journal, magazine and newspaper collections. Those records will include a date range of coverage and indicate the title to be in: Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection. 

Copied articles from in-house titles will be transmitted in a timely manner, usually via e-mail. There are no charges for copying or forwarding articles from our in-house periodical collections. Articles do not have to be returned to the Library.