RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. You can access RefWorks from the Library Home Page by clicking on the A - Z Database List in the Quick Links box, and clicking on the letter R in the alphabet across the top of the databases list page.

With RefWorks you can:

Gather references automatically from article databases and indexes while you research
Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
Format your footnotes and bibliographies
Create a personal research database online
Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
Share references with others
Download and use Write-N-Cite

First Time Users

When accessing RefWorks This link opens in a new window, new users need to create a username and password. Please use your SNHU email as that will alert RefWorks that you are affiliated with the University. We recommend setting your password to be the same as your my.snhu login for ease of use.

Help Using RefWorks

An overview of features and help can be found on the RefWorks Help Page This link opens in a new window. Visit the RefWorks Video Tutorial page This link opens in a new window to view helpful short videos on this product.

Questions about RefWorks can be directed to Instructional Support at instructionalsupport@snhu.edu.

SNHU Instructional Support's RefWorks help page includes the following:

FAQ's Using RefWorks

How do I save full-text documents or citations to RefWorks?
- With a single click! Install the Save to RefWorks This link opens in a new window add-on or bookmarklet to your internet browser, then click it when you're on a web page or journal article you'd like to save. We'll even try to grab the full text with it's available.
I write in Word / Google Docs, can RefWorks help me cite or create a bibliography?
- Yes! If you write in Word, go to the Tools menu This link opens in a new window and download Write-N-Cite. ProQuest has a help guide on using Write-N-Cite This link opens in a new window.
- For Google Doc users, our add-on gives you the full power of RefWorks right within Google Docs. Visit the RefWorks for Google Docs page This link opens in a new window to learn more.
If I save articles in a folder in EBSCO when I use the Multi-Search, may I export the entire folder to RefWorks This link opens in a new window at once?
- Yes
  1. Conduct a search.
  2. Click on the Add folder icon next to any results you want to save. Click on the folder icon at the top of the page.
  3. From the Folder, click the Export icon, and select the Direct Export to RefWorks option.
  4. Uncheck the "Remove these items" from folder after saving feature, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
  5. Click Save.

Create an Annotated Bibliography in RefWorks

Once you set up a RefWorks account and upload/drag'n'drop your sources into RefWorks, it will create a bibliography for you, including annotations. To do this, click on your source in the list in your RefWorks account, then type your annotation into the Abstract field in the citation box that appears with your source.

Northcentral University Library has created step by step instructions with screenshots for how to do this. Click on the link below:

Q. How do I create an annotated bibliography using RefWorks?

Alumni Access to RefWorks

Students are able to access their RefWorks account after the completion of their program. For as long as SNHU maintains a subscription to the program, SNHU will be able to extend continued access to RefWorks to alumni.
Alumni should update their RefWorks account prior to graduation by selecting the Alumni option from the Profile/Role section of the Settings page. They should also update their email if they will no longer have access to their SNHU email or will be using a different email. Email address can be updated on the Profile/Email section of the Settings page.